|
|
World War I
Monographic Sources
- The Libraries' book collection includes
works that offer comprehensive treatments of historical topics.
Use
PILOT,
our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the
full-text of electronic
reserve items and other valuable information on the
Internet.
- To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania
Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search
PALCI
and log in using your 16-digit
I-card number.)
- Worldcat-search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles.
Books located through this database
can generally be acquired through
Interlibrary Loan. - The Center for Research Libraries
houses materials rarely held in U.S. libraries and may provide access
to
primary sources useful for reference. Holdings are available for
long term loan to IUP patrons.
http://wwwcrl.uchicago.edu.
Click here for their subject brochures. Items not in our collection can
be borrowed
online through
Interlibrary Loan. - Tips for
searching online catalogs:
Many library catalogs and other databases allow keyword searching, but
searchers may wish to use
advanced search methods--including searching by
combining multiple terms or limiting results to specific
fields (author,
title, subject). Using subject headings is also a way to limit results.
Appropriate subject
headings include:
- World War, 1914-1918
- World War, 1914-1918--Women
- World War, 1914-1918--Great Britain.
- World
War,
1914-1918--Participation, African American.
E-Books
General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly
and Popular Magazines
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers
offer concise and timely treatment of many topics of
historical interest. IUP patrons can access large collections of such information through the journal
aggregators.
(To gain access
from home, use your 16 digit I-card number.)
-
EBSCOhost--provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
-
Gale/Infotrac-provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
E-Journals
- Project MUSE --
provides more than 200 full-text online scholarly journals from academic
presses
covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual
and performing arts, cultural studies,
education, political science, gender
studies, and many others.
- JSTOR--
Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies,
Anthropology, Asian
Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance,
History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy,
Political Science, Population
Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for
archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each
title.
Searching for Specific Journal Titles
- Use IUP
Libraries Electronic Journals Search
to check if an electronic journal
is available through
one of our databases.
- Use JAKE--to
determine if a journal is available in full-text from one of our electronic
journal
collections or to determine where it is indexed.
Primary Sources
Contemporary Indexes--indexes
of
- The Times (London) Call Number: [INDEX] AI 21.T46
- New York Times Call Number: [INDEX] AI 21.N45
- Readers' Guide to
- Periodical
Literature.
Call Number [INDEX] AI3 .R4
Government Information
Electronic Indexes
- America:
History and Life-- coverage of historical literature of the United
States and Canada
from prehistory to the present.
- Historical
Abstracts--historical coverage of the world from 1450
to the present (excluding
the United States and Canada)
- Other online databases--many other
databases are available from the Library's
webpage under Databases.
Internet Sites can provide valuable primary and
secondary sources for the study of
History, but often lack scholarly editorial
review so should be used with caution. For a
list of search engines and subject
directories, try
Infopeople
Best Search Tools.
Useful sites:
-
World War I Document Archive -Brigham
Young University page provides links to primary
source documents and images from the war.
-
World War I
information about World War I and other wars involving America.
-
World War
One--The Great War--The Western Front annotated webliography of WWI with
active links to many informational web pages. Unfortunately some of the links are outdated.
-
World War I --
Trenches on the Web-
A multi-layered source with links to
primary sources, images, first-hand accounts, all well organized and easily accessible.
-
Wartime Journal commercial site
there is quite a bit of primary source material about WWI here.
There are some excellent first-person articles and some great photographs from
the war.
Citing What You Have Found:
Questions
or comments concerning this page should be directed to Theresa
McDevitt.
Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed
Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu>
.
Please see IUP's statement
regarding pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on
09/09/03.
|