|
|
Starting Points for Research in
Women and Religion
Reference
Materials
Items found in the Library's reference department can provide useful
introductions to subject areas relating
to women and religion.
Consult the following for background information on Women’s Studies related topics:
-
Carson, Anne. Feminist spirituality and the feminine divine : an annotated
bibliography. [REF] BL458 .C39 1986
-
Encyclopedia of women and world religion. [REF] BL458 .E53 1999.
-
Encyclopedia of religion. [REF] BL31 .E46 2005
Monographic Sources
-
The
Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatments
of topics related to women and
religion.
Use
Pilot our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links
to the full-text of electronic reserve
items and other valuable information on the Internet.
-
To
search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries, and to borrow from them
directly, choose
PALCI from
our web page. (To borrow items, log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
-
World Cat--search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles. For
items not owned by our library, use
ILLIAD
to borrow them from other libraries.
-
Digital Dissertations -- Dissertation Abstracts and full text for all
digital dissertations from 1997 to present. The
database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first
U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861,
to those accepted as recently as last semester.
General Online Sources of
Full-text Scholarly Journals and Magazines
Scholarly journals offer the most specific and current treatment of historic
topics. IUP patrons can
access large collections of such information through the following services. (To
access these databases
from off-campus, use your 16 digit I-card number.) To if we have access to the
full-text of an journal
electronically, do a journal title search in
Pilot .
-
Ebsco Host--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
newspapers, the
bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to Internet sites and
information on local
holdings of periodicals.
-
Infotrac--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to
thousands more.
-
Project
MUSE -- provides more than 100 full-text online scholarly journals from
academic presses
covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and
performing arts, cultural studies,
education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
-
JSTOR -- Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies,
Anthropology,
Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature,
Mathematics, Philosophy,
Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is
designed specifically for
archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each
title.
-
Duke E-Journals ON-CAMPUS
ONLY
or
VPN --
includes
online access to twenty-nine Duke humanities
and social science journals
Specialized
Electronic Indexes and Collections
-
Religion & Philosophy Collection ----a
comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions,
major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology,
political philosophy, philosophy of
language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- Womens
Studies International
--Women’s
Studies International, covers the
core disciplines in
Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage
includes more than 548,220
records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports
curriculum development
in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public
policy, international relations,
arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are
represented.
- Women's Studies resources
are also found in databases and indexes that specialize in other disciplines.
You will find many useful databases from our web page
Articles and
More/All Databases (Alphabetical) .
Internet
Citing What You Have Found
|