| |
Finding Sources on the
International Textile Trade
Monographic Sources
- The Libraries' book collection includes
information on the textile trade and foreign economic activity.
Use
Pilot, our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as
links to the full-text of electronic
reserve items and other valuable information on the Internet.
- Useful subject headings include:
- clothing trade
- textile industry
Reference Books
- Statesman Yearbook--information
on governments including economies. Ask at Reference Desk.
-
World Factbook--information
on countries.. Ask at
Reference.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations--provides
information on countries.
[REF] G63 .W67 1995
- Exporters' Encyclopaedia.
HF3011 .E9
-
Handbook of
International Economic Statistics
-
Country Studies -
the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the
Federal Research Division
of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program
sponsored by the U.S. Department of
Army focusing on 101 lesser known areas of the world or regions in which
U.S. forces might be deployed.
- U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook
[REF] HC106.5 .A17
General Online Sources of Full-text
Scholarly and Popular Magazines
Scholarly and popular magazines and
newspapers offer concise and timely treatment of many business
topics.
IUP patrons can access large collections of such information through the
following services. (To gain access at home,
use your 16 digit I-card number.)
-
EBSCOhost--provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands
more. Choose Business Source Premier.
-
GaleGroup/Infotrac--provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to
thousands more. Choose Business database or academic. Business and
Company ASAP .
-
Academic
Universe--provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal,
and reference information.
Specialized Trade Information
-
STAT-USA --site providing access to current trade-related information
produced by the many agencies of the federal
government active in promoting U.S. exports. Made available courtesy of
the Federal Depository Library Program.
on-campus access only! Ask a librarian to log you on!
- Ingenta
(CARL Uncover) --a database
of current article information taken from well over 18,000
multidisciplinary journals.
Government Information
-
Marcive
WebDocs -- database corresponding to the printed Monthly Catalog
offers the most comprehensive bibliographic
access to government publications published from 1976 to the present as
well as links to sites on the Internet.
-
Firstgov---the first-ever government web site to provide the public
with easy, one-stop access to all online
U.S. Federal Government resources
-
Google UncleSam- google's government information search engine.
Statistical Information
-
Statistical Universe--comprehensive
access to statistical information, allowing users to search summaries of
statistical
publications then link to the full text of selected publications on
Statistical Universe or government Web sites.
-
Fedstats--offers access to statistics collected by the more than 70
agencies in the United States Federal Government
produce statistics of interest to the public.
-
Infonation-- an easy-to-use, two-step database that allows
you to view and compare the most up-to-date statistical
data for the Member States of the United Nations.
Internet Megasites
Other Internet
sites
International Trade Web Sites
Country Information Web Sites
Other Library
Websites
Bibliographic Management Software
-
WriteNote - web-based bibliographic management system allows users to
create bibliographic databases with notes and instantly create notes and
bibliographies within Microsoft word. Available on-campus or off-campus
with
VPN set-up.
Click here for users' manual.
- EndNote -- world's most popular
bibliographic software allows users to create
searchable bibliographic databases with notes, draw bibliographic
information
from online catalogs and periodical databases, and create within Microsoft
Word
instant bibliographic references and bibliographies in any style.
Students can
pick up copies of EndNote software with I-card at the Student Help Desk
139
Gordon Hall.
Correspondence regarding this
page should be sent to T.R. McDevitt.
Correspondence concerning this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed
Zimmerman,
edzimmer@iup.edu> . Please see IUP's
statement regarding pages
that do not officially represent the university. Revised on 00/19/04.
|