|
|
Guide for Research on the
U.S. Supreme Court
Reference Works
-
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme
Court (2001) [REF] KF8742.A35 E53 2001
-
Facts about the Supreme Court of
the United States [REF] KF8742 .P32 1996
-
The Supreme Court justices : a
biographical dictionary [REF] KF8744 .S859 1994
-
The Supreme Court of the United
States : its beginnings & its justices, 1790-1991. [REF]
KF8744 .S87 1992
-
Congressional Quarterly's
guide to the U.S. Supreme Court [REF] KF8742 .W567
1990
Books
- The Libraries' book collection includes
works that offer comprehensive treatments of historical topics. Use
PILOT, our online catalog
to find books in our collection as well as links to the full-text of
electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the
Internet.
- To search the catalogs of other
Pennsylvania Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search PALCI
and log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
- Worldcat-search
the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles. Books located through
this database can
generally be acquired through Interlibrary
Loan.
General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly and
Popular Magazines
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers
offer concise and timely treatment of many topics of historical
interest. IUP patrons can access large collections of such information
through the journal aggregators. (To gain access from
home, use your 16 digit I-card number.
- EBSCOhost--provides access to the
full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
bibliographic
access to thousands more.
- Gale/Infotrac-provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
bibliographic
access to thousands more.
- Academic
Universe- full-text database includes the last twenty years of
local,
national, and international newspapers and many other useful
sources.
E-Journals
- Project MUSE
-- provides more than 200 full-text online scholarly journals from
academic presses
covering the fields of literature and
criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies,
education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
- JSTOR--
Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies,
Anthropology, Asian Studies,
Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance,
History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science,
Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed
specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most
recent 2-5 years of each title.
Searching for Specific Journal
Titles
- Use IUP Libraries Electronic Journals
Search
to check if an electronic
journal is available through
one of our databases.
- Use JAKE--to determine
if a journal is available in full-text from one of our electronic
journal
collections or to determine where it is indexed
Web Sites
- The Supreme Court Historical Society
"dedicated to the preservation and
dissemination of the history
of the Supreme Court of the United States." The site
provides a history of the Court
(including data on past and present justices), a description of the
Court process, and a guide to
researching the Court. Also includes sections on women's rights and on the Supreme Court packing controversy of
1937
- Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia Database The
Oyez Project "provides access to more than
2000 hours of Supreme Court audio ... recorded since 1995 [through
the present]." (The pre-1995 collection is selective.) Features
pending court cases; "On This Day," a
listing of all Supreme Court events by date; legal news;
biographies of the Supreme Court Justices; subject directory of cases;
a calendar of court events,
including dates for cases scheduled to be argued and decided; and more.
- Supreme Court Collection Search
this site for U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Spotlights cases argued
during the current term, Supreme
Court orders issued during the current
month, and a calendar of oral arguments. Includes an archive of
decisions going back to 1990, searchable by topic, justice, and party;
highlights of the present term; a glossary; Supreme Court rules; and more
- Supreme Court of the United States
by the U.S. Supreme Court and the Government Printing Office,
and hosted by the GPO. The site provides general information on the
Court, as well as access to the Court's Term slip opinions, Term orders,
argument calendar, schedules, Rules, bar admission forms and
instructions, case-handling guides, special notices, and press releases.
- Supreme Court - Washington Post Summaries
of the major cases of the current term, with
background from The
Post and links to relevant laws and related Supreme Court decisions
Internet Sources Search engines and subject directories provide access to the
wide variety of information available on the Internet. Try the selection
available at the Infopeople's Best
Search Tools.
For information on how to evaluate information
found on the Internet, try the following:
Citing What You Find
|