|
|
Starting Points for Special Education
Monographs
The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatment
of many aspects of special education.
- Use
PILOT,
our online catalog to find books in our
collection as well as links to the full-text of e-books, government web sites,
and
other valuable information on the Internet.
- To search the catalogs
of other Pennsylvania Libraries and to borrow from them directly, choose
Books and More, and
PALCI from
our web page. (To borrow items, log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
- To find resources available in other
libraries
WorldCat.
These items can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan's
ILLIAD.
Online Sources of Bibiliographic and
Full-text Scholarly and Popular Magazines and Journals
-
Ebsco Host--access
to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and newspapers, the
bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to Internet sites and
information on local holdings of periodicals. Including:
- ERIC -- most comprehensive index
to educational literature available offers access to citations and
abstracts of educational periodicals and reports.
- Education Abstracts --
bibliographic coverage from 528 periodicals and yearbooks, with indexing
going back to 1983 and abstracts to 1994.
- Academic Search Premier - general
index includes information on many aspects of special education.
- Professional Development Collection --
specialized collection of more than 750 full text journals, including
more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Professional Development
Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text
education journals in the world.
- Primary Search -- popular,
magazines for elementary school research
- PsycARTICLES --
full-text articles from 49 journals published by American Psychological
Association and allied organizations
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences
Collection -- full text journals covering topics such as emotional and
behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes,
anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- PsycInfo -- American Psychological
Association database containing summaries of journal articles, book
chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to
dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines.
-
Infotrac/Searchbank--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
-
Dissertation Abstracts International
(Digital Dissertations) --comprehensive
source of dissertation information and the full-text of dissertations from
1997-present.
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook --
full-text information about and reviews of all
English-language standardized tests covering educational skills,
personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Other databases area also available from
Articles and More, and
All Databases on
our web page.
Internet Sources
Search engines and subject directories provide access to the wide variety of
information available on the Internet. Try the selection available at the
Infopeople's Best Search Tools.
For information on how to evaluate information
found on the Internet, try the following:
Citing What You Find
Links to Online Library Services
Stapleton Library offers a range of electronic services such as Interlibrary
Loan ordering, reference assistance, and suggestion submission from its web
page. look under Library Services on our
web page, or take our
virtual tour.
Notable Web Pages
For assistance with research, come to the
reference desk or phone us at 724-357-3006.
|