GUIDE
TO RESOURCES FOR SPANISH RESEARCH AT STAPLETON LIBRARY
http://www.lib.iup.edu/instruction/guides/spanishresources.htm
Selected
Spanish reference books including encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and
bibliographies that are available in our collection. These are useful sources
when searching for biographies of Spanish authors and critical analysis of
their works. Other titles may be found by searching PILOT-the library’s online
catalog.
How to
search for Spanish resources in Spanish using Pilot the Online Catalog.
1.
Go to the IUP Libraries Web Page http://www.iup.edu/library
2.
Click on
Books & More
3.
Click on
Online Catalog
4. Set Search Limits to Spanish




6. Conduct a Subject Keyword
Search


7. Choose
from your search results.

Suggested Reference
Sources
This guide contains a biographical
statement on some of the most outstanding literary figures from Latin America
and the
Contains biographical and
critical essays on authors from a wide range of historical periods and
nationalities.
Essays on author’s life, times, and works. Includes bibliographies.
Contains a broad selection of the best
criticism of the works by major Hispanic writers of the past 100 years.
Scope:U.S.,
Contains more than 400 entries on 20th century Hispanic
writers-focusing on Hispanic
literature and culture in the
Bibliographies,
Dictionaries and Handbooks
GENERAL
DATABASES-Some
contain links to full-text articles. If you find article citations only, you
need to search PILOT by journal title to see if the library owns that
periodical
Academic
Search Premier provides full text for nearly 3,180
scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social
sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and
linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Biography
Resource Center - A
comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people
from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and
subject areas.
Ethnic
NewsWatch + ENW, A History
- covers news, culture and History from 240+
publications of ethnic, minority and native presses. Designed to provide
the "other side of the story", full text titles offer additional
viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Both English and
Spanish language search interfaces are provided. This does not affect the
content.
InfoTrac
OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical
articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events,
economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities,
law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology,
and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with
images. Coverage: 1980 - Jan
2004. Updated
daily.
Academic Universe provides
access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. To search Spanish or
Portuguese language news sources select "Non-English language News"
as a news category and then "Spanish Language News" or
"Portuguese Language News" as a news source. Coverage: 1978-present
Literature
Resource Center - A complete
literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate
student as well as the sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical,
bibliographical, and critical content. It is the premier Internet
resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in
such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and
more.
MLA
International Bibliography - Index produced by the Modern Language
Association consisting of bibliographic records pertaining to literature,
language, linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to scholarly research
in over 3,000 journals and series. Also covered are relevant monographs,
working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, and other formats.
Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1963-present.
SELECTED
WEBSITES-These sites are useful for obtaining general background information on
a country. Information for example on the social life and culture, the economy,
and government, is readily found here.
There are also statistics and maps available.
Country
Studies/Area Handbooks: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Presents
a description and analysis of the social, economic, political, and national
security systems of countries throughout the world.
LANIC
is an important gateway to
WESS Web:
Iberian Studies Web (Association of Research Libraries)
The Iberian Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in
Iberian Studies (for
Last
Updated: 9/19/08 by Portia Diaz, portia@iup.edu