Library Resources for Religion


The following resources may be found in the library's online catalog by doing a subject search on the term religion. The following are selected examples of the various resources. There are many others available. Items listed are in Stapleton Reference unless otherwise noted.


Electronic Databases  | Encyclopedias and Dictionaries | Bibliographies | Biographies | Indexes | Core Periodicals | Internet Resources |


Electronic Database

Religion & Philosophy Collection
--
a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for journals in the database. 

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

·         Encyclopaedia of religion and ethics. 13 vols. 1955.
Call number: [REF] BL31 .E44

·         Encyclopedia of religion. 15 vols. 2005.
Call number: [REF] BL31 .E46 2005

·         Anchor Bible dictionary. 6 vols. 1992.
Call number: [REF] BS440 .A54 1992

·         Interpreter's dictionary of the Bible. 5 vols. 1962. (supplement: 1976)
Call number: [REF] BS440. I63

·         New Interpreter's Bible. 13 vols. 1994.
Call number: [REF] BS491.2 .I552 1994

·         Theological dictionary of the Old Testament. rev. ed. v.1-10, 12. 1977.
Call number: [REF] BS440 .B5713 1977

·         Theological dictionary of the New Testament, ed. G. Kittel. 10 vols. 1964.
Call number: [REF] BS2312 .K5813 1964

·         Encyclopedia of African American religions. 1 vol. 1993.
Call number: [REF] BR563.N4 E53 1993

·         New Catholic encyclopedia. 15 vols. 2003.
Call number: [REF] BX841 .N44 2003

·         Mythology of all races. 13 vols. 1916-1932.
Call number:   [REF] BL25 .M8

·         Religions of the world. 4 vols. 2002.
Call number: [REF] BL 80.3 .R45 2002

·         Encyclopaedia Judaica. 16 vols plus yearbooks. 1973, updated to 1976.
Call number: [REF] DS102.8 .E496

·         Encyclopedia of Buddhism. 2 vols. 2004.
Call number: [REF] BQ128 .E62 2004

·         Encyclopaedia of Islam. 5 vols. published so far, starting 1954.
Call number: [REF] DS37 .E523

·         Encyclopedia of science and religion. 2 vols. 2003.
Call number: [REF] BL240.3 .E53 2003

Bibliographies

·         Theological and religious reference materials. 3 vols. 1984.
Call number: [REF] Z7770 .G66 1984

·         Religion and society in North America; an annotated bibliography. 1983.
Call number: [REF] Z7831 .R44 1983

Biographies

·         Holy people of the world: a cross-cultural encyclopedia. 3 vols. 2004.   
Call number: [REF] BL72 .H65 2004

·         Religious leaders of America. 1991.
Call number: [REF] BL72 .M458 1991

·         Who's who in theology: from the first century to the present. 1992.
Call number: [REF] BR95 .B65 1991

·         Who's who of world religions. 1992.
Call number: [REF] BL72 .W54 1992

Bible Concordances

·         NRSV exhaustive concordance. 1991.
Call number: [REF] BS425 .N453 1991

·         NIV exhaustive concordance. 1990.   Includes Hebrew-English, Aramaic-English, and Greek-English lexicons.
Call number: [REF] BS425 .G62 1990

Indexes

·         Religion index one: Periodicals. 1977 to date.
Call number: [INDEX] BL 1.A5

Core periodicals held by IUP Libraries and Media Services

·         Christian century. 1902 to date.

·         Christianity today. 1956 to date.

·         International journal for philosophy of religion. 1970-1991.

·         Jewish quarterly review. 1910 to date.

·         Journal of religion. 1921 to date.

·         Numen: international review for the history of religions. 1954 to date.

·         U. S. Catholic. 1963 to date.


Select Internet Resources

Address: http://www.lib.duke.edu/divinity/divlist.html


LibWeb Connections: | Library Main Menu | Catalog | Databases | Internet | Website Map |
     I U P Connections: | IUP | IUP CWIS | Academic Affairs | SSHE |

URL=http://www.lib.iup.edu/instruction/guides/religion.html       Filename: religion.html

Content provided by Dan Shively .
Last modified: 11/13/2006 by Portia Diaz