Locating Primary Sources for Historical Research

What is a primary source? 

Primary sources include riginal, first-hand accounts of events or time periods.

Primary vs Secondary Sources

 They inlcude the following:

  • Autobiographies
  • Diaries
  • Journals
  • Letters
  • Raw data and Statistics
  • Oral History Tapes
  • Photographs, Posters, Cartoons
  • Speeches
  • Newspaper Accounts
  • Treaties and other government publications
  • interviews

How do I locate primary sources? 

Monographs 

  • The Libraries' book collection includes works that include primary sources. Use
    PILOT (http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/) our online catalog to find books and government documents  in our collection
    and links to other valuable resources  on the Internet.
  • To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search PALCI 
    and  log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
  • WorldCat --search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles. Books located through this database can
    generally be acquired through Interlibrary Loan.

In your searches you can include the following terms in your subject searching: 

  • Caricatures and cartoons

  • Case Studies

  • Diaries

  • Journals

  • Papers

  • Personal Narratives

  • Photographs

  • Speeches

  • Sermons

  • Public opinion

Historic Journals and Newspapers  

Newspapers can be a good source of primary material if articles are first person accounts stories
on a breaking issue, or journalists reporting the results of their investigations.
 For links to historical
collections of newspapers online, microform collections, indexes, and individual titles available in our
collection go to Newspapers for Historical Research .
 

Full-Text Databases

Indexes

Useful Websites

Websites for Primary Sources

  • American Memory -- gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and
    culture of the United States.
  • Making of America - "digital library of primary sources in American social history from
    the antebellum period through reconstruction."

Correspondence regarding this page should be addressed to its creator, Theresa McDevitt. Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu> . Please see IUP's statement regarding pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on 09/08.