|
|
History vs Pop Culture --Finding Sources
John Brown --
Martyr or Maniac ?
After decades of
abolitionist activity immediately prior to the Civil War John Brown led a raid
to inspire those held in slavery to rise up and overthrown their oppressors
and bring an end to
slavery. His ill-fated raid into Harper's Ferry led to the death of
most of those who
came with him and his own execution. At the time, he inspired quite different
reaction in different
sections of the nation. In the North, he was seen as a martyr by many, but
in the South, he was
viewed as a butcher bent on the destruction of innocent whites. The passions
excited by
his story is generally seen as a significant factor in the coming of the Civil
War. Today, scholarly
debates on his character and significance continues, though in the post-Civil
Rights Era he is more
likely to be viewed as a hero than a maniacal sociopath.
Step 1: To investigate him or any historical
person or event it is good to get the facts that are
accepted. A good place to begin is the encyclopedia or other fact
book
-
Britannica Online -- includes the complete encyclopedia, as
well as Merriam-Webster's
Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the
Britannica
Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an
Internet
directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated,
and reviewed by Britannica editors.
-
ReferenceSuite @ FACTS.com - facts from the last 60 years
Step 2: Find Books. Books offer comprehensive
treatment of topics.
- The Libraries' book collection includes
works that offer comprehensive treatments of historical topics. Use
PILOT (http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/)
our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the
full-text of electronic reserve
items and other valuable information on the
Internet.
- To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania
Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search
PALCI
and log in using your 16-digit
I-card number.)
-
WorldCat --search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles.
Books located through this database can
generally be acquired through
Interlibrary Loan.
Step 3: Find Scholarly articles in Full-text
Researchers can access large collections
scholarly journal articles thorough full-text databases.
(To gain access
from home, use your 16 digit I-card number.)
-
EBSCOhost--provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more. (For scholarly
articles limit search to Scholarly Peer Reviewed) Journals. -
Gale/Infotrac-provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more. (For scholarly articles
do your search and then click on the Academic
journals tag on results page.)
- Project MUSE
--
provides more than 200 full-text online scholarly journals from academic
presses
covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual
and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender
studies, and many others. (All included articles
are scholarly) -
JSTOR--
Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies,
Anthropology, Asian Studies,
Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance,
History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population
Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for
archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each
title. (All included articles are scholarly)
Step 4. Find articles in Comprehensive Indexes
with only some links to full-text.
-
America: History & Life
-- coverage of historical literature of the United
States and Canada
from prehistory to the present.
-
Historical
Abstracts--historical coverage of the world from 1450
to the present (excluding the
United States and Canada)
Step 5. You may need to search for some journal
titles not llinked to citations
Step 6. Look for articles in old Newspapers
and Journals
Step 7. Look for Other Sources
Step 8: Cite your Sources
Questions
or comments concerning this page should be directed to Theresa
McDevitt.
Correspondence regarding
this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed
Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu>
.
Please see IUP's statement
regarding pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on
01/07.
|