Library Resources for Philosophy


The following resources may be found in the library's on-line catalog by doing a subject search on the term philosophy. The following are selected examples of the various resources. There are many others available. Items listed are in Stapleton Reference unless otherwise noted.


Electronic Databases | Encyclopedias and Dictionaries | Bibliographies | Biographies  | Core Periodicals | Internet Resources |


Electronic Databases

Philosopher's Index
--provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
--
a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for journals in the database. 

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

·         Cambridge dictionary of philosophy, ed. Robert Audi. 1999.
Call number: [REF] B41 .C35 1999

·         Concise encyclopedia of philosophy of language, ed. Peter Lamarque. 1997.
Call number: [REF] P106 .C5946 1997

·         Dictionary of theories, ed. Jennifer Bothamley. 1993.
Call number: [REF] AG5 .D53 1993

·         Encyclopedia of Chinese philosophy, ed. Antonio S. Cua. 2003.
Call number: [REF] B126 .E496 2003

·         Encyclopedia of ethics, ed. Lawrence C. Becker and Charlotte B. Becker. 2nd ed. 3 vols. 2001.
Call number: [REF] BJ63 .E45 2001

·         Encyclopedia of philosophy, ed. Paul Edwards. 1972.
Call number: [REF] B41 .E5 1972

·         Encyclopedia of philosophy. Supplement, ed. Donald M. Borchert. 1996.
Call number: [REF] B41 .E5 1996

·         Encyclopedia of the enlightenment, ed. A.C. Kors. 4 vols. 2003.
Call number: [REF] B802 .E53 2003

·         Key ideas in human thought, ed. Kenneth McLeish. 1993.
Call number: [REF] B41 .K48 1993.

·         Masterpieces of world philosophy, ed. Frank N. Magill. 1990.
Call number: [REF] B75 .M37 1990

·         Oxford companion to the mind, ed. Richard L. Gregory. 2004.
Call number: [REF] BF31 .O94 2004

·         Oxford dictionary of philosophy, by Simon Blackburn. 1994.
Call number: [REF] B41 .B53 1994.

·         Oxford handbook of aesthetics, ed. Jerrold Levinson. 2003.
Call number: [REF] BH56 .O94 2003

·         Paradoxes from A to Z, by Michael Clark. 2002.
Call number: [REF] BC199.P2 C57 2002

·         Quiddities: an intermittently philosophical dictionary, by W.V. Quine. 1987.
Call number: [REF] B945.Q53 Q54 1987

·         Talking philosophy: a wordbook, by A. W. Sparkes. 1990.
Call number: [REF] B49 .S63 1990

Bibliographies

·         Philosophy: a guide to the reference literature, by Hans E. Bynagle. 1997.
Call number: [REF] Z7125 .B97 1997

·         Pragmatism: an annotated bibliography, by John R. Shook. 1998.
Call number: [REF] B944.P72 S56 1998

Biographies

·         Biographical dictionary of twentieth-century philosophers, ed. Stuart Brown et al. 1996.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                
Call number: [REF] B104 .B56 1996

·         Dictionary of seventeenth-century British philosophers, ed. Andrew Pyle. 2 vols. 2000.
Call number: [REF] B1131 .D53 2000

Select list of journals in philosophy available at the IUP library in print or electronically (not all are held in full runs):

American philosophical quarterly
Analysis
Behavior and philosophy
Diogenes
Ethics
European journal of philosophy
Human studies
Inquiry
International philosophical quarterly
Journal of medical ethics
Journal of philosophy
Journal of the history of ideas
Journal of the history of philosophy
Law and philosophy
Metaphilosophy
Midwest studies in philosophy
Mind
Monist
Nous
Pacific philosophical quarterly
Philosophical perspectives
Philosophical quarterly
Philosophical review
Philosophical studies
Philosophy and phenomenological research
Philosophy and public affairs
Philosophy East and West
Proceedings of the Aristotelian Society
Review of metaphysics
Synthese 

Select Internet Resources

Address: http://plato.stanford.edu



LibWeb Connections: | Library Main Menu | Catalog | Databases | Internet | Website Map |
     I U P Connections: | IUP | IUP CWIS | Academic Affairs | SSHE |


URL=http://www.lib.iup.edu/instruction/guides/religion.html       Filename: religion.html

Content provided by Dan Shively .
Last modified: 11/13/2006 by Portia Diaz