|
|
National Parks
Reference Works
Items found in the Library's reference department provide useful introductions to subject areas and often offer
selective bibliographic leads. Consult these for background information on the
national parks:
- Natural history in the National Park System
and on the national registry of natural landmarks. [REF] SB482 .A3 1990
- National geographic's guide to the national
parks of the United States. [REF] E160 N244 1992
- America's national battlefield parks : a
guide. [REF] E160 .S72 1990
- Access America : an atlas and guide to the
national parks for visitors with disabilitities [REF] G1201.G52
N6 1988
Books
-
The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatment
of many subjects. Use Pilot, our
online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the full-text
of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the Internet.
- To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries and to borrow from them
directly, choose Get
Books from our web page. (To borrow items, log in using your 16-digit I-card
number.)
- To search for essays contained in book
chapters search Essay
and General Literature. Essays located may not be held in our
collections, but should be available through Interlibrary
Loan.
- World
Cat-search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles.
General Online Sources of Full-text
Scholarly and Popular Magazines and Newspapers
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely
treatment of many issues. IUP patrons can access large collections of such
information through the following services. (To gain access at home to the first
two, use your 16 digit I-card number.)
- Ebsco
Host--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
newspapers, the bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to
Internet sites and information on local holdings of periodicals.
- Infotrac/Searchbank--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
- Academic
Universe- full-text database includes the last twenty years of local,
national, and international newspapers and many other useful sources.
Specialized Indexes
Though large general databases offering full-text are easy to use, sometimes the
source of the most scholarly and most relevant information is a specialized
index. You also may wish to look at the complete list of these under Databases
on our web page. Here are some examples:
- America:
History & Life -- a complete bibliographic reference to the history
of the United States and Canada.
- ERIC
-- most comprehensive index to educational literature available offers
access to citations and abstracts of educational periodicals and reports.
- MLA
Bibliography -- index produced by the Modern Language Association
consisting of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language,
linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to scholarly research in over
3,000 journals and series.
Government Publications
- Marcive
WebDocs -- database corresponding to the printed Monthly Catalog offers
the most comprehensive bibliographic access to government publications
published from 1976 to the present as well as links to sites on the
Internet.
- Firstgov---the
first-ever government web site to provide the public with easy,
one-stop access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources
Internet Sources
Search engines and subject directories provide access to the wide variety of
information available on the Internet. Try the selection available at the Infopeople's
Best Search Tools.
For information on how to evaluate information
found on the Internet, try the following:
Citing What You Find
Links to Online Library Services
Stapleton Library offers a range of electronic services such as Interlibrary
Loan ordering, reference assistance, and suggestion submission from its web
page. Please try our Electronic
Services.
Notable Web Pages
For assistance with research, come to the
reference desk on the first floor of Stapleton Library where a librarian
can provide professional reference assistance, send an electronic inquiry at E-mail
Reference, or phone us at 724-357-3006.
|