| |
Stapleton Library Starting Points for
Research in Music and Ethnicity
Monographs
The Libraries' book collection
includes works that offer comprehensive treatment of many subjects. Use
Pilot, our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as
links to the full-text of electronic reserve items and other valuable
information on the Internet.
To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania
Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, choose
Get Books from our web page. (To
borrow items, log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
To access books we do not own, search WorldCat,
a bibliographic database containing records for millions of books and
Internet sites. Materials located through this database can be
ordered on-line through Interlibrary
Loan.
Reference Works
Reference works are excellent ways to begin research. The most extensive
collection of music reference works are held in the Cogswell
Music Library.
General Online Sources of Full-text
Scholarly and Popular Magazines and Newspapers
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely
treatment of many issues. IUP patrons can access large collections of such
information through the following services. (To gain access from off-campus,
use your 16 digit I-card number.)
-
Ebsco Host--access
to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and newspapers, the
bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to Internet sites
and information on local holdings of periodicals.
- Infotrac/Searchbank--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
-
Academic
Universe- full-text database includes the last twenty years of local,
national, and international newspapers and many other useful sources.
Specialized Indexes
Though large general databases offering full-text are easy to use,
sometimes the source of the most scholarly and most relevant information is
a specialized index. You also may wish to look at the complete list of these
under Databases
on our web page. Here are some examples:
-
America: History & Life--a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States
and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage includes selected
historical journals from major countries, state and local history
journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social
sciences and humanities. The database also includes citations to abstracts
of dissertations published in these areas.
Anthropological Index--one of the major indexes for Social and Cultural Anthropology. It also
covers physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. Based on the
collection of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Museum of Mankind
Library, it indexes over 700 journals worldwide. Period Covered : Vo.
22-32 - approximately last 10 years.
- CARL
Uncover(Ingenta)-- service that offers a periodicals database that indexes
nearly 18,000 multi-disciplinary titles and contains over eight million
article citations. CARL Uncover's Reveal, a current awareness service, is
available to IUP students, faculty, and staff.
-
ERIC (EBSCO)--a combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education (RIE) and
Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved from RIE
are documents assigned ED numbers (most available in PDF files from IUP
database E*Subscribe, or see microfiche by submitting the ED number).
Items retrieved in CIJE are journal articles assigned EJ numbers. Journal
titles must be checked against the Library's periodical holdings determine
local availability. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: 1966-present.
-
MLA Bibliography--
index produced by the Modern Language Association consisting of
bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and
folklore. It provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals
and series. Also covered are relevant monographs, working papers,
proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, and other formats. Interface:
WebSpirs. Coverage: 1963-present.
-
Music Index Online-- covers more than 640 international music periodicals; includes
musicological and organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews,
first performances, and obituaries. Coverage: 1979-present. Note: restricted to on-campus users.
-
Sociological Abstracts --databases covering sociology and related disciplines by including
bibliographic citations, abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations. It
covers approximately 2500 journals in 30 languages from 55 countries.
Interface: EBSCO.
Indexing and Full-Text
Interested in locating an index to a journal
we don't have or in determining if it is available in electronically in
full-text? Check in Ask Jake
under the journal title.
Internet Sources
Useful Sites
General Web Search Tools
- Search engines and subject directories
provide access to the wide variety of information available on the
Internet. For a selection of such large web indexes, try
Infopeople's Best
Search Tools.
Style
Links to Online Library Services
Stapleton Library offers a range of
electronic services such as Interlibrary Loan ordering, reference
assistance, and suggestion submission from its web page. Please try our
Electronic
Services.
For assistance with research, come to the
reference desk on the first floor of Stapleton Library where a librarian
can provide professional reference assistance. You can also send an
electronic inquiry to
E-mail Reference,
or phone us at 724-357-3006.
|