Books, Manuscripts, and Special
Collections
in Microform at Stapleton Library
Abstracts on crime and delinquency.
1968-1975. Film
Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia. Correspondences and
minutes, 1815-1906.
Ever since its foundation in 1812, a policy has been tacitly maintained
by the Academy to preserve manuscript documents even after the information
has been published. The secretaries, editors, and other officers
of the Academy had all cached such papers somewhere for posterity.
These holdings were largely brought together by Edward J. Nolan for his
history to celebrate the hundredth anniversary. The minutes of the
Academy's meetings used to be written up in a rough form, read at the succeeding
meeting, and after approval by the members, copied into the official minutes
book. It is these official minutes occupying 16 folio ledgers which
have been microfilmed, although a few gaps had to be filled from the so-called
rough minutes.
Film
Afro-American and American studies.
18th and 19th century periodicals. Fiche
Allgemeine deutsche biographic. 943 A154g.
1875-1912. Leipzig, Duncker & Humblot. 56 volumes.
Fiche
Allied powers (1919- ). Reparation Commission.
940.31422 A155r.
Reparation papers of the Allied Powers Reparation Commission.
Arlington, VA. University Publications of American, 1975.
Film
Almanach de Gotha. Annuaire genealogique, diplomatique et statistique, 1764-1944. Washington, Brookhaven Press, 1976. Fiche 929.7 A162m.
American Biographical Archive. 973.092 Am353e.
A unique cumulation of biographical material, unrivaled not only in
size but also in its coverage of those of local or limited fame as well
as the famous, covering 300 hundred years of American history as exemplified
in the lives of some 280,000 of its citizens. Index located in Reference:
R973.092 Am353ei ( 6 volumes). Fiche
American Fiction. See Wright, Lyle H. Film
American labor unions’ constitutions and proceedings. 331.880973
Am35e.
Glen Rock, NJ. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1975.
Film
American Psychological Society. See Catalog of selected documents in psychology. Fiche
American Statistics Index. A collection of all statistical publications of the U. S. Government, covering a wide range of subjects reflecting the concerns of central and regional federal agencies. Social, economic, demographic, natural resource and scientific/technical data are represented. Washington, DC. Congressional Information Service, 1974-date. Indexes located on tables outside of Documents Office. Fiche
Annual Register of World Events; a review of the year, 1758-1889.
R909 An78.
London and New York. Longmans, Green, St. Martin’s Press.
Fiche
Archives diplomatiques. 327.44 Ar25c
Recueil mensuel de diplomatie, dÆhistoire et de droit international,
1961-1914.
131 volumes. Fiche
Archives parlementaires de 1787-1860. 328.44 Ar25c
Recueil complet des debats legislatifs & politiques des chambres
francaises imprime par ordre du Senat et de la Chambre des deputes sous
la direction de m. J. Mavidal...et de m. E. Laurent...Paris, Libraririe
administrative de P. Dupont, 1862-19. 82 volumes. Fiche
Assassination of President John F. Kennedy, 1917-1963. 973.922 As72. Newspaper and magazine clippings. Under Kennedy. Fresno, CA. AMCO Microfilming, Historical Archives Department. 1 reel. Film
Baynton, Wharton, and Morgan. 338.973 B344b. Papers in the Pennsylvania State Archives, 1757-1787. Harrisburg, PA. Historical and Museum Commission, 1967. Film
Black journal. See Afro-American and American Studies. Fiche
Boston Symphony Orchestra. 780.15 B657p.
Program notes, 1881-1975. Millwood, NY. KTO Microform,
1976- . Film
Bridges, Harry. 1900- . 335.0973 B764h.
Harry Bridges, 1938-1952. New York, NY. AMS Press. Film
British Broadcasting Corporation. 016.791447 B777a. Author and title catalogues of transmitted drama, poetry, and features, 1923-1975. Cambridge, England, 1977. Fiche
Bulleten Periodique de la presse strangere. This survey of newspapers and periodicals from Europe, South America, United States, Russia, Turkey, China, and Japan was begun by the French Ministry of War and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1916 and was continued in the 1920Æs by the latter. At this time the emphasis was shifted to afford greater concentration on foreign affairs, and an elaborate subject index and chronology were incorporated in each issue. The high technical competency of the earlier issues was maintained in careful translation into French from the original language from both newspapers and periodicals. The Bulletin is arranged by country. Film
CIS see Congressional Information Service. Fiche
Camden Society, London. Publications, Series 1, 1838-1872. Microcard Editions. 105 volumes. Fiche 820.82 C144p.
Cameron, Simon. Simon Cameron Papers and guide, 1824-1892.
Harrisburgh, PA. Historical and Museum
Commission, 1971. Film 974.803 C146s.
Carnegie Institution of Washington. Contributions to American anthropology, archaeology, and history, 1931-1960. Washington, DC. Carnegie Institution of Washington. 6 reels. Film 913.72 C215.
Catalog of Public Documents. See United States. Superintendent of Documents. Film
Catalog of selected documents in psychology. 1975-date. Fiche
Chaucer Society, London. Publications. First Series, Second Series. These supplement the Library’s cataloged volumes of the Society, an organization founded in 1868 by James Furnivall for the purpose of collecting materials for the study of Chaucer. Card 821.17 C3934e.
Chicago. Art Institute. Annual Report. 1928-1975. Film 708.17311 C432an.
China Association, London. Annual Report. 1889-1898; 1906-1968. Film 380.951 C441a.
Civil War newspapers. North and South. Film
Claremont College Reading Conference. Yearbook. Claremont, CA. Claremont College Library, 1936-1966. Film 372.4 C54.
Clymer, George. George Clymer papers. Philadelphia, PA. Pennsylvania Historical Society, n. d. Film 974.889 C62p.
Coleccion de documentos Ineditos, relativos al descubrimiento. Conquista y Organizacion de las Antiquas Posesiones Espanolas de America Oceania. Madrid, 1864-84. 42 volumes. Fiche 980.01 C685.
Columbia University. Oral History Research Office. The New York Times oral history program. Fiche 973.9 C723c.
Conference on Polysaccharides in biology. Transactions, 1955-59. Ann Arbor, MI. Xerox, University Microfilms, 1976. 5 reels. Film 574.133 C76t.
Congressional Information Service. A collection of Congressional legislation that makes a comprehensive effort to collect all the publications of Congress (except for the Congressional Record), including hearings, reports of the House and Senate, reports of committees, subcommittees and special offices, treaty documents, and public laws. Legislative histories can also be traced through CIS. Washington, DC. Congressional Information Service, 1970-date. Indexes located on tables outside of Documents Office. Fiche
Contemporary newspapers of North American Indians. 1883-1960. Film
Corpus of American Lutheranism. New Haven, CT. The American Theological Library Association. Film 284.173 C817c.
Corpus scriptorum ecclesiasticorum latinorum. Editum consilio et impensis Academiae litterarum caesareaevindobonensis. Vindobonae, apudC. Geroldi filium; 1866-1913. 60 volumes. Fiche 281.1 C817e.
Crummell, Alexander. Works. 1856-1898. New York, NY. International Microfilm Press. Film 283.73 C888w.
Current National Statistical Compendia, 1976- . Westport, CT. Greenwood Press. 30 volumes. Fiche 310 C936u.
Dissertation Abstracts. 1938-1965. 48 reels. Continued in bound format. Film 082 D632.
Dodsley, Robert. 1708-1764. A select collection of old English plays. London. Reeves and Turner, 1874-1876. Card 822.08 D668s.
Douglass, Frederick. Works. New York, NY. International Microfilm Press, 1977. Film 362.92 D747w.
Dugdale, Sir William. 1605-1686. Monasticon
Anglicanum, 1655-1673.
Contains chiefly the foundation charters of the monasteries at their
first erection, the subsequent donation charters being purposely omitted.
London. Richardi Hodginsonne. Card 271
D878m.
Durham, Eng. (Diocese) Bishop. Registrum Palatinum dunelmense,
1873-1878. London. Longman & Company.
4 volumes. Fiche 274.2 D934r.
ERIC documents. See Educational Resources Information Center. Fiche
Early American Imprint, 1639-1800. Keyed to Evan’s American Bibliography, this series provides the complete text of every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the United States from 1639 to 1800. In these works are recorded the birth of a national literature and the beginnings of national life in the colonies. The Bay Psalm Book, the New England Primers, the works of Cotton Mather, William Penn, Jonathan Edwards, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, Noah Webster, Isaac Watts, Thomas Paine, Benjamin Rush and their contemporaries, provide a rich source of colonial history and a major acquisition for scholarly research. Worcester, MA. American Antiquarius Society, 1839- . Indexes located in Reference: American Bibliography/Evans, R015.73 Ev15. Print
Early American Imprints, 1801-1819 (Shaw-Shoemaker Bibliography). Continues above work. Print
Early American Periodical Index to 1850. Unique tool for literary and historical research. It is based upon a close analysis of about 340 American magazines, published circa 1730-1860. The index includes approximately 650,000 cards. It is divided into six sections: General Prose, Fiction, Poetry, Book Reviews, Songs, and Subjects. It can be used with American Periodical Series I and II. Print
Early English Literary Periodicals. Includes essays, reviews, and journals of the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries that employed or published some of England’s best-known authors (both early works and mature writing). Bibliography selected by Professor Richmond P. Bond, University of North Carolina and a Committee of Scholars. Film
Early English Text Society. Publications. Original
series: 1864-1886, 1894-1932. Extra series: 1867-1907,
1906-1935. Card
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC is a national information network for acquiring, selecting, abstracting, indexing, sorting, retrieving, and disseminating significant and timely education-related reports. It consists of a coordinating staff in Washington, DC and 16 Clearninghouses located at universities or with professional organizations across the country. The ED number (i. e. ED469756) is required to access these documents. Fiche
Eighteenth-century sources for the study of English literature and culture. A collection of original texts. Charlottesville, VA. Micrographics II. 274 volumes. Film 820.806 Ei44g.
Ellis, Alexander John. On early English pronounciation, 1869-1889. New York, NY. Haskell House, 1969. Card 421.52 El59n.
Engineering Index. 1884-1960. Film
English Books, 1475-1640. This collection of microfilm is based upon the most comprehensive record of English books ever published for the period 1475-1640, the Short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and of English books printed abroad, by A. W. Pollard and G. R. Redgrave. It includes the text of over 25,000 editions printed in England, Ireland, and Scotland (regardless of the language used), as well as all the books published in the English language on the continent. Ann Arbor, MI. University Microfilms,1938. 1,192 reels. Film 820.8 En36p.
English Books, 1641-1700. Titles selected from Wing short-title catalog of books printed in Great Britain and British North America, or in English, from 1641 through 1700. Ann Arbor, MI. University Microfilms, 1961. 301 reels. Film 820.8 En36w.
Fabian Tract. 1884-1940. London. The Fabian Society, 1884. 5 reels. Film 335.14 F112.
Federal Writers’ Project. Slave narratives, a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slaves. Type-written records prepared by the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936-1938, assembled by the Library of Congress. Washington, 1941. Fiche 326.973 F317s.
Feinstone, Sol, collector. The Sol Feinstone collection of the American Revolution. This private collection of more than1,700 manuscripts, letters and documents relating to the American Revolution and its leaders has been made available on microfilm. It includes not only representative manuscripts of several hundred of the principal actors in the Revolutionary movement, but substantial groups of letters of John Adams, Henry Dearborn, Jedediah Hintington, LaFayette and others, including a long run of letters of a Massachusetts military surgeon named Samuel Adams. There are 120 letters and documents of George Washington, more than 40 of Alexander Hamilton, and more than 30 of Thomas Jefferson. Many letters, though written by Revolutionary figures, relate to events that occurred before or after the War. Film 973.3 F327.
Film Daily Yearbook of Motion Pictures and Television, 1918-1969.
791.40973 F487m.
New York, NY. Film Daily. Film
Film Fortescue, John William. A history of the British Army, 1859-1938. New York, NY. AMS Press, 1976. 13 volumes. Film. 355.0942 F776h.
France. Almanach National, 1770-1879. Since 1700 the official
almanac of France. Continuation of Laurent d’Houry’s Almanach ou
Calendrier, 1683 (1679)-1699. 100 volumes.
Fiche 354.44 F844a.
France. Journal Officiel. Debats Parlementaires.
Chambre des Deputes, 1881-1940. The Debats Parlementaires are the
proceedings of the Chamber of Deputies of the National Assembly.
They cover both Sessions Ordinaires and Sessions Extraordinaires and include
questions escrites, reponses des ministeres a ces questions, and tables
annuelles. Washington, DC. Microcard Editions, Inc.
Card 328.4402 F844d.
Fulton, John A. J. Alexander Fulton papers, 1846-1861.
Harrisburg, PA. Historical and Museum Commission, 1871.
Film 070.9748 F959j.
Gallatin, Albert.
Papers. The letters and documents reproduced here come from 90
archives and collections in the United States and Europe, including the
entire relevant calendared, uncalendared and boxed collections in the New
York Historical Society and all known Gallatin papers and pertinent Treasury
Department records in the National Archives and the Library of Congress.
Philadelphia, PA. Microsurance, Inc., 1969.
Film 320.92 G135p.
German Confederations, 1815-1866. Protokolle der deutschen. Bundesversammlung. Washington, DC. Microcard Editions, Inc., 1964. 52 volumes. Fiche 328.43 G3169p.
Germany. Heer. Oberkommando. German army high command, 1938-1945. Arlington, VA. University Publications of America, 1975. 38 volumes. Film 940.541343 G317g.
Germany. Reichstag. Verhandlungen des Reichstag,
1871-1933. Washington, DC. Microcard Editions.
Fiche 328.43 G317r.
Gerritsen Collection of Women’s History, 1543-1945. Fiche
Possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women’s
history and the feminist movement. Topical categories include:
marriage, home, family, prostitution, war, education and professional training,
employment, feminism, physiology, psychology, biography, the arts, political
and social reform, and religion. Index is divided into three volumes:
Language, Subjects and Serials.
Index located in Reference: R016.3054 G321e.
Film
Giraldus Cambrensis. Giraldi Cambrensis opera, 1861-1891. London. Longman & Company. 8 volumes. Fiche 914.15 G441g.
Great Britain. Laws, statutes, etc. The statutes of the realm, 1225-1713. Washington, DC. Microcard Editions. 10 volumes. Fiche 340.0942 G798s.
Great Britain. Parliament. The Parliamentary debates (authorized edition). November, 1803- December, 1908. Supersedes the Parliamentary history of England from the earliest period to the year 1803. 41 volumes. Print 328.4202 G798.
Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. British Sessional Papers, 1731-1900. These papers, particularly those of the 19th century, have been described as ‘the richest and most important collection of printed government records in existence in any country.’ They consist of papers that were laid before the House of Commons and ordered printed by that House, and those printed papers that were laid before Commons by royal command. In these papers are recorded the great movements of British history--Britain as a world power, her foreign policy, her colonial affairs, slavery, justice, law, education, health, crime, labor, agriculture, manufactures, railways, etc. In this collection are the decennial census reports as well as the documents relating to Irish affairs. This is an indispensable assemblage of basic source materials for the student of British history. Print 328.4204 G798.
Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons.
Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons.
Parliamentary debates (Hansard). Official report. 1909-1918.
111 volumes. Print 328.4202 G798hc.
Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. Parliamentary debates (Hansard). Official report. 1909-1918. 32 volumes. 328.4202 G798h. Print
Great Britain. Public Record Office. Rerum Britannicarum Medii Aevi Scriptores, Nos. 1-99 (‘Rolls Series’). Cataloged individually. For holdings see titles in series. 254 volumes. Fiche
Great Britain. Yearbooks, 1272-1307. Yearbooks
of the reign of King Edward the first. 5 volumes.
Fiche 942.0.5 G798y.
HRAF. See Human Relations Area Files. Fiche
Hakluyt Society. Works. Series 2. Established in 1848, the Hakluyt Society, has for its objective the publication of original narratives of important voyages, travels, expeditions, and other geographical records. The selection is not confined to works of English travelers, to a particular age, or to particular regions. Among the voyages represented are Christopher Columbus, Vasco do Gama, Sir Richard Hawkins, Sir Francis Drake, Hernando de Soto, Sir Walter Raleigh, Sir Martin Frobisher, and Captain James Cook. Of the highest interest to students of history,geography, navigation, and ethnology, these titles supplement the Library’s previously acquired volumes of the Society, and strengthens its research holdings in this area. Card
Halder, Franz. The private war jounal of Generaloberst Franz Halder, 14 August 1939 to 24 September 1942. Arlington, VA. University Publications of America, 1975. 9 volumes. Film 940.541343 H129p.
Hardy, Thomas Duffus. Descriptive catalogue of materials relating to the history of Great Britain and Ireland to the end of the reign of Henry VII. 1862-1871. London. Longman, Green, and Roberts. Fiche 016.94 H222da.
Harmonia. Records and index, 1853-1865. Pittsburgh, PA.
Micro Methods.
Film 335.1 H2284.
Harrisburg Newspaper. See Pennsylvania newspapers. Film
Herstory. Books, periodicals, and newspapers of the women’s movement. Film
Hillquit, Morris. Morris Hillquit papers. Madison, WI. State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1969. Film 335.0973 H559m.
Histoire Litteraire de la France. 1733-1898. The most detailed history of French literature, beginning with the earliest period and so full that the 38th volume has only advanced part way through the 14th century. Film 840.9 H629.
Historical records survey. American imprints inventory (Catholic University). This is a continuing inventory of imprints mostly of 19th century titles for the Eastern, Southern, and Midwestern states, and California. This inventory carries on the works begun by the American Imprints Inventory of the Historical Records Survey of the 1930’s. For listing see first two pieces of microfiche. Fiche 015.73 H629a.
History of the Office of Censorship. Washington, DC.
University Publications of America, 1977. 7 volumes.
Film 353.00751 H629s.
Hoopes, Darlingotn. Personal papers of Dalington Hoopes, Esq.
These papers comprise one of the most significant single collections of
primary source material on the Socialist Party of the United States.
Born in 1896, Hoopes’ affiliation with the Party began in 1914 while he
was still a student at the University of Wisconsin. He served as
state secretary of the Pennsylvania Socialist Party from 1923-1927, socialist
member of the Pennsylvania General Assembly from 1930-1936, National Chairman
of the Socialist Party of the United States from 1946-1968, and presidential
candidate of the Socialist Party in the elections of 1952 and 1956.
Philadelphia, PA. Historic Publications.
Film 329.81 H766p.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF).
These files are a data archive and information retrieval system covering
a large sample of societies and cultures of the world to facilitate study,
teaching, and research in the social-behavioral sciences, in area studies,
and in the humanities. Although the Files are especially valuable
as a basis for worldwide comparative studies of human behavior, social
life, and culture, they can also be used as a source of data for a great
variety of courses or research projects in almost any field of study dealing
with
people and their ways of life. Each HRAF File corresponds more
or less closely to a cultural unit
defined in the Outline of World Cultures (OWC) (Murdock 1975).
The alphanumeric designation for each cultural unit, and for the corresponding
File (if there is one) is called the OWC code. The source materials
in each File are organized according to a comprehensive subject classification
system involving over 700 numbered subject categories. The multiple
filing of text pages by subject categories transforms the Files into a
rapid and effective data retrieval system. Fiche
Index located in Reference: R016.572 H88h.
Icelandic sagas. Historical documents relating to the settlement
of Northmen on the British Isles. 1887-1894. 4 volumes.
Fiche 839.6 Ic2e.
Illinois. Office of Inspectors of Factories and Workshops.
Annual reports, 1893-1900. Springfield, IL.
Fiche 658.2 Il6a.
Independent Labour Party (Great Britain). Report of the first
general conference, 1893-1906. London. Micro Methods Ltd.
Film 329.942 In2m.
Indian Rights Association. Letters. Wilmington, DE. Scholarly
Resources, Inc., 1970.
Film 970.1 In2e.
Jeffersonian Americana. Items relating to the Jeffersonian period selected from the University of Virginia Library. Each title is also listed individually and has its own microfiche number. Fiche 973 J359e.
King, Martin Luther. Assassination file (FBI). 25 reels. Film
LAC collection. See Library of American Civilization. Ultra Fiche
Labor Newspapers. Union publications of the 19th and 20th centuries. Film
Labour Party (Great Britain). Report of the annual conference, 1900-1960. 8 reels. Film 329.942 L113r.
Landmarks of Science. A comprehensive collection of the source materials in the history of science, comprising the significant contributions to the advancement of science and technology. General editors: Duane Roller and Sir Harold Hartley. New York, NY. Readex Microprint, 1966. Print
Legislative history of the Internal Revenue Acts. 909-1950.
Washington, DC. Microcard Editions. 27 volumes.
Fiche 343.7305 L524h.
Legislative Research Checklist. 1960-date. Card
Lewis, John L. John L. Lewis papers. Madison, WI.
State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1970.
Film 331.88 L587j.
Library of American Civilization (LAC). Approximately 15,400 volumes
on ultramicrofiche of materials relating to American culture from its beginning
up to World War I (1914). Included in this collection are many relevant
books, some rare and not generally available, as well as pamphlets, periodicals,
documents, biographies and autobiographies, works of fiction, poetry, and
foreign books relating to America. Retrieval is by LAC number.
Access via author, title, and major subject headings. Ultrafiche
Indexes located in Reference: R016.9173 L616m.
Library of English Literature. Part I- through 1660. Published by Encyclopedia Britannica. The Microbook Library of English Literature; author and title catalogs. Chicago, IL. Library Resources, Inc., 1972. UltraFiche R016.82 L616m
London. New Fabian Research Bureau. Research pamphlets,
nos. 1-49, 1931- . London. Micro Methods,
Ltd., 1932- .
Film 335.14 L846r.
Luard, Henry Richards, 1825-1891. Annales monastici. London. Longman, Green, Longman, Roberts, and Green, 1864-1869. Fiche 271.0942 L96a.
Manhattan Project. Official history and documents. Washington,
DC. University Publications of America, 1977.
12 volumes. Film 623.45119 M314a.
Mansi, Giovannia Domenico. Sacrorum conciliorum nova.
Paris. H. Welter, 1900-1927. 53 volumes.
Fiche 262.92 M317s.
Martene, Edmond. 1654-1739. Thesaurus novas anecdotorum...
New York, NY. B. Franklin, 1968. 5 volumes.
Fiche 940.1 M361.
Martene, Edmond. 1654-1739. Veterum scriptorum et monumentorum...
1724-1733. 9 volumes.
Fiche 282.4 M361.
Massachuesetts. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Report,
1869/70-1900. Index to reports, 1870-1889.
Fiche 331.09744 M382a (an).
Migne, Jacques Paul. Patrologiae cursus completus, seu bibliotheca
universalis... omnium SS. Patrum, doctorum, scriptorumque, ecclesiasticorum...
Series Gracea... a S. Barnaba ad Photium. Parississ. Migne,
1857-1866. 161 volumes.
Fiche 270 M588p.
Migne, Jacques Paul.
Patrologiae cursus completus, seu bibliotheca universalis... omnium
SS. Patrum, doctorum scriptorumque ecclesiasticorum... Series Latina...
a Tertulliano ad Innocentium III. Parisiis. Migne, 1844-1880.
221 volumes. Fiche 270 M588pa
New Shakespeare Society, London. Publications. Cataloged individually. London. Published for the Society by Trubner and Company, 1874-1904. Card 822.33 N42n.
NewsBank. 1975-date. NewsBank is a current awareness reference service providing access to articles of research value,selected from the newspapers and regional business publications of over 450 U. S. cities. Articles included address national concerns and are especially valuable for research on a specific issue or event, as it will be covered by the newspapers where it took place. Comparisons between states can easily be made for widespread issues. More in-depth coverage of biographical and arts information can be found in separate NewsBank services: Names in the News, Review of the Arts. Printed indexes are published monthly and cumulated quarterly and annually. Indexes located in Reference: I/A 070. Previously titled: Urban Update. Fiche
Nicholson, John. 1757-1800. John Nicholson papers in the Pennsylvania State Archives. Harrisburg, PA. Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1967. Film 974.802 N523j.
Nineteenth century American pamphlets. (Lost Cause Press). Card
Nineteenth century English literature. 233 volumes. Film
A nursing collection: 369 doctoral dissertations, theses, and reports by subject. Fiche
O
Oregon. University. School of Health, Physical Education
and Recreation. This Microform Publication project is a component
of the International Institute for Sport and Human Performance at the University
of Oregon. Since 1949 it has been providing a service to the professional
academic community woldwide, disseminating graduate research of national
and international significance, as well as providing access to scholarly
books, journals, and meeting proceedings now out of print. The collection
covers graduate research in full-text in recreation, exercise and sport
sciences, sport history and sport-related issues in the humanities and
social sciences, and dance. The theses and dissertations are compiled from
universities in the US and Canada.. Fiche
Indexes located in Reference: R016.6137 Or3h
Owen, Robert. Robert Owen papers, 1821-1858. Northhampton, MA. Smith College, 1966- . Film 335.12 Ow2p.
Paris. Peace Conference, 1919. United States. American commission to negotiate peace (World War I), 1918-1931. 1975. 8 volumes. Film 940.3141 P218g.
Parliamentary history of England. London. T. C. Hansard, 1806-1820. Card 328.4202 P239.
Penn, Thomas. Letters. January 19, 1729- December 18, 1775. The manuscripts filmed in this publication fall into two categories. Rolls 1-3 contain the 12 volumes known at the Society as the Thomas Penn Letter Books in which are transcribed copies of his outgoing correspondence. At the beginning of Volumes 2-10 are indexes to their contents. Letter Book 12 contains copies of the correspondence of Thomas Penn’s son John Penn, for 1809-1832. Many of these letters relate to John Penn’s Pennsylvania property. 10 reels. Film 942.07 P38p.
Pennsylvania. Bureau of Industrial Statistics. Annual
Report, 1872/73-1913/14. Harrisburg, PA. 1874-1915.
Fiche 338.09748 P384a.
Constitutional Convention. Proceedings, 1776-1959. Westport, CT. Greenwood Press. Fiche 342.748 P384p.
Pennsylvania. Department of Factory Inspector. Annual Report, 1890-1900. Fiche 658.2 P384a
Pennsylvania. General Assembly. House. Journals and documents. 1826-1846. Film
Pennsylvania. General Assembly. Senate. Journals and documents. 1827-1847. Film
Pennsylvania Abolitionist Society. This collection, owned by the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, commences with minutes and manuscripts of the Susan Parrish Wharton Collection compiled by ‘The Society for the Relief of Free Negroes Unlawfully Kept in Bondage,’ which was organized in 1775. Thus one year before the colonies were disrupted by the War of Independence, the first formal society for the abolition of slavery was founded in Philadelphia. Quakers, Presbyterians, Episcopalians and Jews were prominent in this great libertarian movement led by Benjamin Franklin. Film
Pennsylvania Newspapers. 18th and 19th century newspapers. Film
Perry, William Stevens. Historical collections relating to the American
colonial church. Hartford, CT. 1870-1878.
Film 277.3 P429h.
Philadelphia. Academy of Natural Sciences. See Academy of Natural Sciences. Film
Presidential Papers. Film.
Prussia. Landtag. Haus der Abgeordneten. Stenographische Berichte. 1870/71-1890/91. Fiche
Prussia. Landtag. Herenhaus. Stenographische Berichte uber die Verhandlungen. 1870/71-1888. Fiche
Recueil des historiens croisades. Fiche 940.18 R245.
Recueil des Historiens des Gaules et de France, 1798-1904.
Edited by Dom Martin Boquet. 24 volumes.
Fiche 944.01 R245.
‘Rolls Series.’ See Great Britain. Public Records Office. Fiche
State documents (Pennsylvania), 1960-1966. Documents recorded in the Legislative Research Checklist. Fiche 353.9 St29a.
Tests in Microfiche. The Educational Testing Service (ETS) collection
provides microfiche copies of certain
unpublished tests as a service to educators and psychologists.
New tests developed by individuals and organizations throughout the country
often are mentioned or described in the professional literature.
However, just as often, the actual instruments are not reproduced, and,
in many instances, may be obtained only through correspondence with the
authors, who are frequently difficult to locate. Through the ETS
Test Collection, many of these unpublished tests are made available in
microfiche.
Fiche 371.26 T289e.
Indexes located in Reference: [Ref] LB 3051. T44 Index
Thompson, Ralph. American Literary Annuals and Gift Books, 1825-1865, contains a history and discussion of representative American annuals and gift books (pgs. 1-101) and a catalog (pgs. 102-163) describing with fuller data than given in Faxon (Literary Annuals and Gift Books. Boston, MA. Boston Book Co., 1912), some 230 titles with information as to whether the annual is for juvenile of adult readers, and many notes as to reprints under changed titles. 58 reels. Film 090 T37a.
Underground Newspaper Collection. 1963-1970. Film
United Nations Documents. All official documents of the United
Nations as listed in the United Nations Document Index and arranged by
document number. 1945- date. Print
Indexes located in Reference: I/A 0 0.
United States. Bureau of the Census. Federal
population schedules. Washington, DC. National Archives and
Records Service, 1975. Library owns only those reels that deal with
Indiana County 1810-1880 and 1900-1920, except for 1860, which includes
all of Pennsylvania. Film 312 Un3f.
See also in Special Collections 312.09748 J137p (790, 800, 810,
820, 830, 840, 850).
United States. Bureau of the Census. Selected publications other than decennial, 1820-1945. Fiche 317.3 Unse.
United States. Bureau of the Census. Film 312 Un37t.
United States decennial census publications, 1790-1960. A collection
of census publications originally issued by the United States Bureau
of the Census under its present name and under its earlier name, United
States Census Office. Approximately 2000 volumes on 175 reels divided
as follows (number in parentheses is the number of reels). Contents
contains Census of:
United States. Congress. Congressional Hearings, 1869-1935,
1935-1956. This printed record of more than 1,250,000 pages
of testimony given before all existing congressional committees covers
the 65 year span from the period of Reconstruction following the Civil
War through and including the economic turmoil of the 1930s. These
hearings contain a complete transcript of testimony and represents one
of the most useful and valuable collections of Federal Documents ever published.
No public testimony is withheld; no hearings are omitted from the collection.
Fiche
Index located in Reference: Index of Congressional Committee
Hearings, R015 Un343n.
United States. Copyright Office. Catalog of copyright entries. New Series, Music (1906-1945). Series 3, Music (1948-1967). Film 018 Un33c.
United States. Government Printing Office. Depository (1956-1974)
and Non-depository publications (1953-1974).
In 1953, a project to reproduce current non-depository titles was undertaken.
Since that time, the Library has received about 12,000 of these publications
annually. This activity has thus made readily accessible practically
all of the publications of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches
of the government. Covering almost every field of human endeavor, the research
possibilities of this collection are almost infinite. The Monthly
Catalog entry number and whether or not the item is depository or non-depository
is needed to access the collection. A small black dot appears next
to items that are depository. Print
Indexes located in Reference and on tables outside the Documents
Office: Monthly Catalog, 1931- date.
Also in Reference: MonthlyCatalog Decennial Cumulative Index,
1941-50--1971-76.
United States. Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Papers. See Presidential Papers. Film
United States. Office of Production Management. Committee on Fair Employment Practice. Selected documents, 1941-1946. Film 331.63 Un3s.
United States. Superintendent of Documents. Catalog of public documents, 1893-1940. Film R015 Un34c.
United States. Works Projects Administration. Pennsylvania. Ethnic Survey, 1938-1941. Film 974.8004 Un3e
University of Oregon physical education collection. See Oregon. Fiche
Urban Update. See Newsbank. Fiche
Victorian Fiction and other Nineteenth Century Fiction. The initial phase of the project is based on, but not limited to, Michael Sadlier’s Nineteeth Century Fiction, a Bibliography Record (Cambridge University Press, 1951. 2 volumes), covering the more important titles. Film 823.8 N622n.
Voices of Protest 1968-1969. Film
Watanabe, Ruth Taiko. Five Italian madrigal books of the late 16th century. Rochester, NY. University of Rochester Press, 1955. 6 volumes. Card 784.1 W29f.
Wesley, John. Explanatory notes of the Old Testament, 1765. Film 221 W516e.
World Almanac. 1868-1966. 26 reels. Film 031 W89a.
Wright, Lyle H. American Fiction,1774-1900. Will include
more than 10,000 separate works of fiction written by American authors
from 1774- 1900 under title novels, romances, tales, short stories,
fictitious biographies, travel, sketches, allegories, and other prose works.
For greater convenience, the film uses the numbers assigned in the Lyle
H. Wright Bibliography. The titles follow in numeric and alphabetic
sequence as they appear in the bibliography. Film
016.8 W933m and 813 W93am(s).