|
|
FINDING INFORMATION ON MATERIAL
CULTURE AND AMERICAN HISTORY
Reference Works:
- Encyclopedias
General and subject specific encyclopedias provide useful introductions to
material culture and the historical time periods during which they were
created, evolved, and were influential. Consult those behind the
Reference Desk in the first floor Reference Area, in the Reference
Collection, or the electronic
Encyclopedia Britannica Online.
Other reference sources:
- Handbook of American Popular Culture
[REF] E 169.1 H 2643 1989 v 1-2.
- Columbia Chronicles of American Life
[REF] E 169.1 G664 1995
- This Fabulous Century [REF] E 161
T55 v. 1-5
- 1776-1976 200 Years of America
[REF] E 174.5 B52
Monographs
- The Libraries' book collection includes
works that offer comprehensive treatment of many subjects. Choose
Books and More/Online Catalog, to search PILOT, our online catalog to find
books in our collection as well as links to the full-text of electronic
reserve items and other valuable information on the Internet.
-
To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries and to borrow from
them directly, choose
Books and More/PALCI from our web page. (To borrow items, log in using
your 16-digit I-card number.)
-
To search the broadest database of books, journal titles, and Internet sites
on any subject search
WorldCat.
From our web page choose
Articles and
More/All Databases/. WorldCat
While many of these materials will not
be available in our library, they can be ordered through
Interlibrary Loan's Web
Page. Click on ILLIAD.
General Online Sources of Full-text
Scholarly and Popular Magazines and Newspapers
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely
treatment of material culture and history. IUP patrons can access large
collections of such information through the following services. (To gain access
at home to the first two, use your 16 digit I-card number.)
-
Ebsco Host--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
newspapers, the bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to
Internet sites and information on local holdings of periodicals.
-
Infotrac/Onefile-- access to the full-text of over one thousand
periodicals and bibliographic access to thousands more.
-
Lexis Nexis
Academic -- full-text database includes the last twenty years of
local, national, and international newspapers and many other useful sources.
Specialized Indexes
Though large general databases offering full-text are easy to use, sometimes the
source of the most scholarly and most relevant information is a specialized
index. You also may wish to look at the complete list of these under
Articles and More/All Databases on our web page. Here are some examples:
-
America: History & Life -- a complete bibliographic reference to the
history of the United States and Canada.
-
Anthropological Index--one
of the major indexes for Social and Cultural Anthropology.
-
Art Abstracts--indexes
and abstracts art journals from more than 313 periodicals worldwide
-
Biography Resource Center-- reference book entries, scholarly and popular
articles and Internet sites on famous people.
-
Sociological Abstracts--
databases covering sociology and related disciplines by including
bibliographic citations, abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations
Remember specialized indexes are often the
most comprehensive guides to relevant sources, but are not always the best
source for full-text. If the full-text is not available from the database
itself, and it does not offer a link to PILOT you will need to determine if we
have it in our paper or electronic journal collections. To do this you
need to check both Pilot at
Books and More/Online Catalog for paper and some and use the electronic
sources or go to
Articles and
More/E-Journals ,
IUP Libraries Electronic Journals Search. This will let you know if we have
access to the journal in electronic format.
Internet Sources
Search engines and subject directories provide access to the wide variety of
information available on the Internet. Try the selection available at the
Infopeople's Best Search Tools.
Some useful sites include:
For information on how to evaluate information
found on the Internet, try the following:
Citing What You Find
Notable Web Pages
STILL NEED HELP WITH YOUR RESEARCH? ASK A
LIBRARIAN !Reference assistance is
available to library users most hours the Library is open:
Walk
ins: Reference librarians staff a central
reference desk most hours the library is open.
Contact us by phone:
Call the reference desk at 724-357-3006
E-mail a question:
Reference librarians and subject specialist can assist you by email.
Chat : Available Monday through Friday 1:00-4:00 pm when classes are
in session.
Request a Research Consultation: Make an appointment to meet with a
librarian to help begin or continue your research.
Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its
creator, Theresa McDevitt, PhD or maintainer, Ed
Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu>
.
Please see IUP's statement
regarding
pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on 03/03.
|