|
|
Local
History Resources
Monographs
- The Libraries' book collection includes works
that document the history, culture and significance of localities. Use
PILOT (http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/)
our online catalog to find books and government documents in our collection
and links to other valuable resources on the Internet relating to localities.
-
Pennsylvania County
Histories -- This
collection includes 47 books on the
histories of counties in Pennsylvania. Each book includes chapters which
cover in great detail: local
history, geology, geography, weather, transportation, lists of all local
participants in the Revolutionary
and Civil Wars, government, medical and legal professions, churches and
ministers, industry and
manufacturing, banking and insurance.
Journal Articles
-
America: History & Life
-- coverage of historical literature of the
United States and Canada
from prehistory to the present.
- Project MUSE
-- provides more than 200 full-text online scholarly journals from
academic presses
covering history, cultural studies, and many others may contain
scholarly articles on localities.
-
JSTOR--
Online archives of over 125 journals in disciplines including History. JSTOR
is designed
specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent
2-5 years of each title.
-
Humanities Full Text --
Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and
numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines with indexing from
1983 forward and
full text from 1995.
-
Pennsylvania History: Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies -- full-text of
articles discussing history of
Pennsylvania.
Local History Links
IUP Special Collections and
Archives
Specialized collections includes many local histories which are
located through
seaches of
PILOT
(http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/) our online catalog.
Also includes vertical
file materials (http://www.lib.iup.edu/depts/speccol/verticalfilelist/Vertical%20File.doc)
for cities and towns in Pennsylvania.
|