Locating Primary Sources for the Study of
Politics and Language
Monographs
-
PILOT,
our online catalog, is a good place to locate primary sources in books in
our collection or links to
government publications and other full-text information on the Internet.
-
To search the
catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries, and to borrow from them
directly, search
PALCI
(logon with your 16-digit I-card number.)
-
Worldcat-search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles.
Books located through
this database can generally be acquired through
Interlibrary Loan.
Journals and
Magazines
Periodical
literature is a good source of primary source material. Search the databases
for citations and links to
the full-text of journal articles.
-
Ebsco Host--access
to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and newspapers, the
bibliographic references
to thousands more, and links to Internet sites and information on local
holdings of periodicals. Search its
Academic Search Premier
to access the full-text of periodicals such as Vital Speeches of the Day
( a magazine that prints the full text of
important speeches by leaders in economics, politics,
education, sociology, business, and labor.) To locate primary sources in
other
publications, limit your search to Publication type, Primary Source
Document .
-
Infotrac/Searchbank-- access to the full-text of over one thousand
periodicals and bibliographic access to thousands more.
-
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe- full-text database includes the last twenty years of local,
national, and international newspapers and many other useful sources.
Newspapers
Newspapers can be a good source of primary material. The library owns many
newspapers on microfilm,
(see
Newspapers
for Historical Research for holdings and provides access
to others in electronic full-text.
Television, radio, and
political transcripts
- Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe
--
access to the full-text of television, radio, and
political transcripts. Choose
guided news search, news transcripts (as news category), and choose
source
of news transcript from
pull-down menu.
Useful Web Sites
Bibliographic Management Software
-
WriteNote - web-based bibliographic management system allows users to
create bibliographic databases with notes and instantly create notes and
bibliographies within Microsoft word. Available on-campus or off-campus
with
VPN set-up.
Click here for users' manual.
- EndNote -- world's most popular
bibliographic software allows users to create
searchable bibliographic databases with notes, draw bibliographic
information
from online catalogs and periodical databases, and create within Microsoft
Word
instant bibliographic references and bibliographies in any style.
Students can
pick up copies of EndNote software with I-card at the Student Help Desk
139
Gordon Hall.
|