|
Newspapers for Historical
Research
Newspapers
cover news as it happens, include photographs and other images, and
advertisements. They can be useful sources of primary evidence for
historical research. IUP Libraries subscribe to a wide range of newspapers
in paper, microfilm, and electronic format.
Newspapers: A Brief
History .
Electronic Access
Individual
Titles
Collections
-
Access NewspaperArchive
-- Many individual titles including the Indiana
Gazette. Go to Browse
titles for complete listing of titles and years
of coverage
-
British
Periodicals Online --
500 periodicals from the 1680s to the 1930s, including
penny weeklies. Go to
Find Periodicals by Title for complete listing of titles and years of
coverage.
-
The Civil War, a Newspaper
Perspective
-- This database contains the full text of major articles
gleaned from The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury and
the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April
15, 1865.
-
Lexis
Nexis Academic
– extensive database includes the last few decades of hundreds of
newspapers titles from across the world. Go to
Browse Sources for a complete list of titles and years of coverage.
-
NewsBank
Full-Text Newspapers
--
full-text content of local and regional newspapers, including community
events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local
companies, state industries, and people in the community. Titles include
Pittsburgh PostGazette, Philadelphia Inquirer, Boston Globe, LA
Times and the Washington Post. Paid advertisements &
obituaries are excluded. Go to
Source List for a complete list of titles and years of coverage.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch + ENW, A History
--covers news, culture
and History from 240+ publications of ethnic, minority and native
presses. Coverage 1960 - Present.
Go to
Publication Search for a complete list of titles and years of
coverage.
Other
Electronic Access
Google
News Archive
Microfilm
Collections
Only a tiny percentage of all pages of all newspapers
published are presently available in electronic format though the list is
growing. Researchers who want to be thorough in their research must also
consult newspapers on microfilm. The following are collections of
newspapers available to researchers in our Library.
- Contemporary
Newspapers of North American Indians. 1883-1960. Film
- Herstory.
Books, periodicals, and newspapers of the women’s movement. Film
- Labor Newspapers.
Union publications of the 19th and 20th centuries. Film
- Underground
Newspaper Collection. 1963-1970. Film
Guide books to the microform sets
are located in the Serials Department unless otherwise noted. There are
microform reader printers available to read and/or make copies of these
resources. Copies are $.25/page. Serials
staff will assist patrons
unfamiliar with the equipment.
Newspapers on
Microfilm by Title
|