Starting Points for Research in Health and Physical Education

Books

  • The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer information on Health and Physical Education topics. Use
    PILOT (http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/) our online catalog to find books, government documents, journal titles
    in our paper and electronic collections, and links to other valuable resources  on the Internet.
  • To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search PALCI 
    and  log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
  • WorldCat --search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles. Books located through this database can
    generally be acquired through Interlibrary Loan.

General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly and Popular Magazines,
Newspapers, and Books

Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely treatment
of many issues. IUP patrons can access large collections of such information through
the following services. (To gain access at home to the first two, use your 16 digit
I-card number.)

  • Acdemic Search Complete--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
    newspapers, the bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to Internet
    sites and information on local holdings of periodicals.
  •  General Onefile-- access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals
    and bibliographic access to thousands more.
  • Book Collection: Nonfiction ---- a rich research database that contains informative abstracts and
    full-text for more than 1,600 popular nonfiction books.

Specialized Indexes
Though large general databases offering full-text are easy to use, sometimes the
source of the most scholarly and most relevant information is a specialized index. You also
may wish to look at the complete list of these under Articles and More, and Databases on
our web page. Here are some examples:

  • ERIC -- most comprehensive index to educational literature available offers access
    to citations and abstracts of educational periodicals and reports.
  • SportDiscus with Full Text ---- the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports
    medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.

Style Guides

For assistance with research, come to the reference desk or  phone us at 724-357-3006.
Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its designer, Theresa McDevitt, mcdevitt@iup.edu or its maintainer, Ed Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu> . Please see IUP's statement regarding pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on 09/08.