Monographs The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive
treatment of many geographical subjects.
PILOT, our online
catalog to find books in our collection as well as links
to the full-text version of electronic reserve items and other valuable
information on
the Internet.
To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries, and to
borrow books directly, choose Books and
More/PALCI
from
our web page. (To borrow items, log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
To gain access to books that
we do not own but may be available for loan, search
WorldCat,
for bibliographic entries to
millions of books held in libraries around the
world and significant web sites. Materials not owned by this
library can be ordered
online through
Interlibrary
Loan .
Reference Works
Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia-- Entries describe
the physical geography of every nation and
dependency on Earth. Physical features, climate, and vegetation are discussed
in detail using a consistent set of rubrics.
Biographical Information
Biography
Resource Center ---- a
comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people
from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and
subject areas.
General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly and Popular
Magazines and Newspapers
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely
treatment of many issues. IUP patrons can access
large collections of such
information through the following services. (To gain access from off-campus, use
your 16 digit I-card number.)
Ebsco
Host--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
newspapers, the bibliographic references to
thousands more, and links to
Internet sites and information on local holdings of periodicals.
Gale/General Onefile--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to
thousands more.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe- full-text database includes the last twenty years of local,
national, and international
newspapers and many other useful sources.
Full-text Scholarly Journal Databases
JSTOR--
Online archives of over 500 journals , so it does not include the most recent
2-5 years of each title.
Project Muse--
provides full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses covering
the fields of literature and
criticism, history, the visual and performing
arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and
many
others.
Specialized Indexes Though large general databases offering full-text are easy to use, sometimes
the source of the most scholarly and most
relevant information is a specialized
index. You also may wish to look at the complete list of these under
All Databases
on
our web page.
Indexes of Particular Interest to Geographers
GeoBib
--Online
Geographical Bibliography (GeoBib) is the online version of
Current Geographical
Publications.
Beginning with January 2004, it will
be available only online cumulating all Current Geographical Publications
entries
from 1984 to the present. Available on-campus or with the
VPN.
GeoRef-- American Geological Institute's database containing over 1.9 million
records of North America since 1785,
and other areas of the world since
1933. It is equivalent to Bibliography of North American Geology,
Bibliography and
Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical
Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology.
GeoBase
-- bibliographic database
covering worldwide research literature in physical and human geography, earth
and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines.
Other useful indexes
Cambridge
Scientific Abstracts--provides multiple databases in the fields of
agricultural sciences, aquatic, biological,
environmental, and medical
sciences.
the online version of Environmental Periodicals Bibliography, produced
and
published by the International Academy at Santa Barbara.
Digital Dissertations-- encompasses
both Dissertation Abstracts and full text for all Proquest digital
dissertations from 1997 to present. With more than 1.6 million entries, the
Dissertation Abstracts database
is the single, authoritative source for
information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Government Information
Stapleton Library has been a depository for state and federal government
publications for nearly four decades. Many of these
items can be located by searching our online catalog.
For a comprehensive index to U.S. federal government
publications in paper
as well as links to sites on the WWW, search Marcive
WebDocs or Catalog of U.S.
Government Publications. For government
publications on the WWW, try Google UncleSam.
Internet Searching
More and more scholarly information is becoming available on
the Internet. To limit searches to more
scholarly sources use the following:
Google Scholar
" Google Scholar
provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one
place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed
papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers,
professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other
scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant
research across the world of scholarly research."
Google Books search
the full-text of books available on the Internet.
Endnote--bibliographic management software
available to all IUP students with an I-card
from the IT Support Center at
the Suites on Grant Lower, Suite G35.
For assistance with research, come to the
reference desk on the first floor of Stapleton Library where a librarian
can provide professional reference assistance.
Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its
creater,
Theresa McDevitt or its maintainer, Ed
Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu>
.
Please see IUP's statement
regarding
pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised 10/08.