IUP Libraries has many sources for finding film reviews. Reviews of
feature films are considerably easier to find than reviews of experimental,
educational, short or documentary films. Most of the sources below contain
references to reviews of feature films, although a few--such as Film.com,
Index to Critical Film Reviews or Selected Film Criticism--will
help you locate reviews of other types of films. Some of the sources below
provide the full text of reviews, while others will direct you to reviews
contained in periodicals and other sources. Keep in mind that IUP
Libraries does not own every periodical indexed. Sources listed with URLs
starting with "http" are on the World Wide Web, and those with call numbers
are available in IUP Libraries Reference collection.
Getting Started I
Finding Books I Finding Articles I
Web Sites
Getting Started
- Complete Film Dictionary - [REF] PN1993.45 .K66 1987
- Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television - [REF] PN2285 .C58
- Film Encyclopedia - [REF] PN1993.45 .K34 1994
- Glossary of
film
terms - [REF] PN1993.45
.G56 1979
- New York Times Film Review - [REF] PN1995 .N4
- Reel Women: pioneers of the cinema 1896 to the present -
[REF] PN1998.2 .A24 1991
- The American Film Industry: a historical dictionary - [REF]
PN1993.5.U6 S539 1986
- Variety Film Reviews - [REF] PN1993 .V36
- Video Source Book - [REF] 016.7914 V668i
- VideoHound's golden movie retriever. Ready
Reference
- Cinema & culture : independent
film in the United States, 1980-2001 - PN2993.5.U6 P75
2002
- Women Film Directors: an international bio-critical dictionary
- [REF] PN1998.2 .F67 1995
Finding Books
Search the Online Catalog in Book and More menu at the
IUP Libraries Webpage to locate
books on your topic.
There are four basic ways to search for books and other materials in
the Web Catalog:
Guided Search
| Keyword Anywhere |
gender and motion pictures |
| Title |
naked city |
| Subject |
film noir |
| Author Name |
cochran, david |
You may also do a subject search using the following Library of
congress subject heading:
- motion picture acting
- film criticism
- film adaptation
To browse in the book or reference collections for titles
focusing on film, look for call number within the range: PN-PS.
Indexes to Reviews
Once you have located a review by using one or more of the sources
listed below, write down or print out the complete citation and then
find out which library on campus owns the periodical, newspaper or book
the review appears in by consulting the
IUP Libraries Online Catalog (e.g. type in t=new yorker or
t=washington post or t=5001 nights at the movies)
- Alternative Press Index 1969-present.
Stapleton Reference [INDEX] AI3 .A27 - An index of alternative and underground periodicals, most of which
are not indexed elsewhere. Reviews are located under the heading "Film
Reviews" or they are listed by the title of the films.
- Film Literature Index 1973-1998
-
Essay & General Literature Index
Stapleton Reference [INDEX] PN1994.A5 F45 - Subject/author index to international film and television/video
literature. Includes references to articles from well-known film journals
and specialized film publications; excludes fan magazines and technical
journals. Section one of each issue covers film; section two contains
television and video.
- Film Review Index
R 016.79143 F487h
Punxsutawney Reference - A bibliography of newspaper, journal and book citations to reviews
of domestic and foreign films. Rather than indexing a fixed list of
sources, Film Review Index identifies materials of all sorts
on selected films of importance to film researchers. Each volume includes
a list of books consulted as well as director, chronology and country
indexes.
- A Guide to Critical Reviews: Part IV, The Screenplay
Stapleton Reference [REF] Z5784.M9 S24 1982
- Vols. 1 and 2 covering 1927-1963 and the 1963-1980 Supplement provide
indexes to film reviews in selected periodicals and newspapers.
- Humanities Index 1974-1998
Stapleton Reference [INDEX] AI3 .H85 - Subject/author index to over 300 English-language periodicals. Film
reviews are indexed under the heading "Motion picture reviews--single
works." For film reviews prior to 1974, consult the Social
Sciences and Humanities Index found via
InfoTrac's
Infotrac OnefileThe International
film index, 1895-1990
/ edited by Alan Goble
Stapleton Reference
[REF] PN1998 .I52 1991
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films
8 vols.Stapleton Reference. [REF] PN1993.45 .M34 1985
Magill's survey of cinema : English language films, first series /
edited by Frank N. Magill ; associate editors, Patricia King Hanson,
Stephen L. Hanson.Stapleton Reference. [REF] PN1993.45 .M3
This set provides reviews of over 1500 foreign films from the early
1900s to 1980, arranged by film title. Country and subject indexes
are included.
Finding Articles
These IUP Libraries databases are recommended sources for locating
information about film reviews and critiques, interviews with directors
and actors, and analytical articles.
Full-Text Reviews
- Internet Movie Database
http://us.imdb.com/
- Unquestionably the most useful film resource on the Web. Updated
weekly, the IMDB provides access to full-text reviews of domestic
and foreign films from newspapers, magazines and online journals,
including the New York Times, Chicago Sun-Times, Entertainment
Weekly, Girls on Film and Salon. You can search
by movie title, cast/crew name, character name, quotes, genre, and
other categories. The IMDB also contains filmographies for
all professions in the industry; plot summaries; character names;
movie ratings; running times; color information; sequel/remake information;
release dates; links to official studio pages, fan pages, image and
multimedia archives; information on film festivals and more. While
the IMDB provides information about films from 1890 to the
present, full-text reviews are not always available for earlier films.
-
InfoTrac
1980-present
- Available through InfoTrac, this database provides citations
to reviews as well as some full-text reviews from periodicals and
newspapers. Besides indexing film reviews in popular sources, such
as Rolling Stone or Newsweek, Expanded Academic Index
also covers a number of important scholarly periodicals devoted to
film and video, such as Cineaste, Sight and Sound, Film
Comment and Film Quarterly. To search for reviews of a
particular film, type in the title of the film and the phrase "movie
reviews" in the search box, e.g. english patient and movie
reviews.
- Film.com
http://www.film.com
- Here are reviews of current releases as well as links to other film
resources and film studios. The reviews are written by a group of
30 professional magazine and newspaper critics who contribute to the
site. Multiple reviews are given for most films. Film.com also
maintains an archive (1991- present) of film reviews of feature films,
shorts and documentaries, which is searchable by film title, keyword,
and reviewer.
-
- Film Scouts
http://www.filmscouts.com
- Reviews of current releases are written by staff writers. Film
Scouts is noted for its coverage of film festivals (Cannes, New
York, Sundance, etc.) and independent films. Guided by on-site characters
Jerry the usher and Tom the projectionist, the Film Scouts
visitor moves about the site's 24 theaters. Seven of these feature
reviews and clips from new releases. Other theaters have interviews,
a reference library, and film festival links.
- New York Times Film Reviews
[REF] PN1995 .N4
- Contains reproductions of film reviews originally printed in the
New York Times from 1913- 1968. Vols. 1-5 are arranged
chronologically; Vol. 6 includes indexes of film titles, persons and
corporations, as well as yearly lists of award-winning films and
photographs of film stars. Biennial supplements update the basic set
and follow the same general arrangement.
- Selected Film Criticism
[REF] PN1995 .S426 1982
- Vols. 1-5 and 7 contain reviews of approximately 200 American films
spanning 1896-1960; Vol. 6 covers foreign films released in the United
States 1930-1950.
- Variety Film Reviews 1907-present.
[REF] PN1993 .V36
- Vols. 1-15 of this set contain photo reproductions of complete film
reviews that originally appeared in Variety. The reviews are
arranged in chronological order from 1907-1980. Vol. 16 is a title
index to the first 15 volumes. An alphabetical index is found in each
volume beginning with Vol. 19.
- Yahoo Movie Review Page
http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Movies_and_Film/Reviews/
- Provides links to full-text reviews and indexes of reviews available
on the Internet.
Web Sites - Selected by a Librarian
To find other collections of film reviews and other film review indexes
and bibliographies, search the
IUP Libraries Online Catalog
by typing in the following subject search: s=motion pictures--reviews.
|