IUP Seal

Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Contact Us
Directory
Site Map
Search
IUP Home
your-office
Finding Information on the Cuban Missile Crisis
 
Monographic Sources
  • The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatments of the cuban
    missile crisis.  Use PILOT our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to
    the full-text of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the Internet.
  • To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries, and to borrow from them directly,
    search PALCI  and  log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
  • Worldcat-search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles. Books located through
    this database can generally be acquired through Interlibrary Loan.
General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly and Popular Magazines

Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer scholarly and popular treatments of activity
surrounding the Cuban Missile Crisis. The follow are large collections of journal articles which include
those dealing with this topic.   (To gain access from home,  use your 16 digit I-card number.)

  • EBSCOhost--provides access to the full-text of thousands of periodicals and bibliographic
    access to thousands more.
  • Gale/Infotrac-provides access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
    access to thousands more.

E-Journals
These collections of scholarly journal articles from the period of the Cuban Missile Crisis to the present.
 

  • Project MUSE -- provides more than 200 full-text online scholarly journals from academic
    presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts,
    cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
  • JSTOR-- Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology,
    Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics,
    Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed
     specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title.

Searching for Specific Journal Titles

  • Use IUP Libraries Electronic Journals Search to check if an electronic journal is available
    through one of our databases.  Bibliographic records for electronic journals are also
    in the PILOT online catalog.

Newspaper Sources

Electronic Indexes

  • America:  History and Life-- coverage of historical literature of the United States and Canada
    from prehistory to the present. 
  • Historical Abstracts--historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the
    United States and Canada)
  • Other online databases--many other databases are available from the Library's web page
    under Databases

Internet Sites can provide valuable primary and secondary sources for the study of
historic events, but often lack scholarly editorial review so should be used with caution.
You may wish to begin with the following sites:

For a list of search engines and subject directories, try :

Citing What You Have Found:

  • Document your sources--good research is based upon reviewing the writing of
    others, but it is essential to acknowledge those sources both to add authority to
    your work and to give  credit to other authors. Style guides are available for various
    disciplines to cite such sources appropriately and include MLA, APA , and guides to
    Citing Online Sources.
  • Turabian Citation Guide
  • Chicago Citation Guide

Bibliographic Management Software

  • EndNote -- world's most popular bibliographic software allows users to create
    searchable bibliographic databases with notes,   draw bibliographic information
    from online catalogs and periodical databases, and create within Microsoft Word
    instant  bibliographic references and bibliographies in any style.   Students can
    pick up copies of EndNote software with I-card at the IT
    Support Center at the
    Suites on Grant Lower, Suite G35. 724-357-4000.

Questions or comments concerning this page should be directed to Theresa McDevitt. Correspondence
regarding this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed Zimmerman, Please see  IUP's statement regarding
pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on 10/02/07.