IUP Seal

Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Contact Us
Directory
Site Map
Search
IUP Hom
e
your-office

Criminal Justice,
Criminology,
& Legal Resources

 

This guide is designed to help you locate and use  Criminal Justice, 
Criminology and Legal resources  available through Stapleton Library.

REFERENCE BOOKS:

Aggression and Conflict: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
[REF] HM136 .L46 1994

Almanac of Modern Terrorism
[REF] HV6431 .S465 1991

Black's Law Dictionary
[REF] KF9217 .H36 2000

Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology
[REF] BF31 .E553 1996

Dictionary of Criminal Justice Terms
[REF] HV7411 .D53 1998

Encyclopedia of American Prisons
[REF] HV9471 .E425 1996

Encyclopedia of Ethics
[REF] BJ63 .E45 2001

Encyclopedia of Sociology
[REF] HM17 .E5

Encyclopedia of World Crime
[REF] HV6017 .E54 1989

The FBI: A Comprehensive Reference Guide
[REF] HV8144.F43 T48 1999

Juvenile Offenders and Victims: A National Report
[REF] HV9104 .S727 1995

Purdon's Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Annotated
[REF] KFP30 1930 .A44

Reform and Retribution: An Illustrated History of American Prisons
[REF] HV9466 .R6 1997

Statistical Handbook on Violence in America
[REF] HN90.V5 S833 1996

DATABASES:
Academic Universe
***Access to this database is limited within the library.***
This database contains the full text of federal, state, and international legal materials, including the full text of state and federal cases.

Ebsco--Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite contains criminal justice and criminology information with many articles being full text.

Searchbank--Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP also contains criminal justice and criminology information with many articles being full text.

PRINTED INDEXES:
Criminal Justice Abstracts     [INDEX] HV6001 .C67
This resource contains abstracts of worldwide criminology and criminal justice literature.
Coverage: 1978 to present

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books    [INDEX] K33 .N32
This index contains information about legal periodicals and books.
Coverage: 1952 to present

Social Sciences Index    [INDEX] AI3 .S62
This index contains legal, criminology, and criminal justice information.
Coverage: 1974 to present

WEB SITES:
Criminal Justice Links
http://www.criminology.fsu.edu/cj.html

Drug Enforcement Administration
http://www.usdoj.gov/dea/index.htm

Federal Bureau of Investigation
http://www.fbi.gov/

FindLaw
http://www.findlaw.com/

Justice Information Center
http://www.ncjrs.org/

Pennsylvania State Police
http://www.psp.state.pa.us/

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/

United States Department of Justice
http://www.usdoj.gov/

United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network
http://www.uncjin.org/

E-JOURNALS:
Criminal Justice Policy Review
http://www.iup.edu/cr/cjpr/index.html

Western Criminology Review
http://wcr.sonoma.edu/
Criminal Justice Abstracts New Interface!!!
--indexes major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Interface: CSA Coverage: 1968-Present.

 
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index [CJPI]
--
is an essential resource for both students and professionals in any criminal justice field. The ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodical Index (CJPI) is the most comprehensive database of its kind. It covers the following subject areas: social sciences, education, and humanities.  The overall dates of coverage are 1981 - present of 190 titles. CJPI can provide information on virtually any criminal justice topic, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. The database offers ASCII text, image, and Text+Graphics coverage for about 50 of the titles most frequently accessed by criminal justice researchers. CJPI also include complete indexing and abstracts for another 140 relevant U.S. and international journals. Sample sources include American Journal of Criminal Justice, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, International Journal of Offender Therapy & Comparative Criminology, Journal of Forensic Sciences, and Women Police.Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds


LibWeb Connections: | Library Main Menu | Catalog | Databases | Internet | Website Map |
     I U P Connections | IUP | IUP CWIS | Academic Affairs | SSHE |


Significant content provided by Carol Connell.
Maintained by Portia Diaz-Martin, please send comments on this site and its contents to portia@iup.edu. 
Last modified:
08/31/2005