Conspiracy Theories in American History


Reference Materials
  • Conspiracy theories in American history : an encyclopedia /edited by Peter Knight.
    Location: Reference Desk.

Monographic Sources

  • The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatments of historical topics. Use
    PILOT (http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/) our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the full-text of electronic reserve
     items and other valuable information on the Internet.
  • To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search PALCI 
    and  log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
  • WorldCat --search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles. Books located through this database can
    generally be acquired through Interlibrary Loan.
General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly and Popular Magazines

Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely treatment of  many topics of
historical interest. IUP patrons can access large collections of such information through the journal
aggregators.  (To gain access from home,  use your 16 digit I-card number.)

  • EBSCOhost--provides access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
     access  to thousands more.
  • Gale/Infotrac-provides access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
     access to thousands more.
E-Journals
  • Project MUSE -- provides more than 200 full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses
     covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies,
    education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
  • JSTOR-- Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies,
    Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science,
    Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals,
    so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title.

Searching for Specific Journal Titles

  • Use PILOT (http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/) our online catalog to check if a journal in any format,
    paper, microform, or electronic journal is available in our library.
  • Use JAKE--to determine iwhere a journal is indexed.

Historical Newspapers

Specialized Electronic Indexes
  • America: History & Life -- coverage of historical literature of the United States and Canada
    from prehistory to the present. 
  • Historical Abstracts--historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the
    United States and Canada)
  • History Resource Center ---- History Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive
    full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries,
    junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
  • Digital Dissertations -- digital dissertations from 1997 to present.
  • Essay & General Literature Index --a unique reference database that provides access to nearly
    65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections, with coverage
    dating as far back as 1985.
  • Humanities & Social Science Retrospective -- that cites
    articles from English-language periodicals published between 1907 - 1984.
    ON-CAMPUS ONLY
  • Nineteenth Century Masterfile:Series I - indexing to periodicals of the late eighteenth
    century through the early twentieth century.  Title list includes: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature(1802-1906),
     Index to Legal Periodical Literature (1786-1922).
    ON-CAMPUS ONLY
  • Other online databases--many other databases are available from the Library's webpage
    under Databases

Citing What you have found


Questions or comments concerning this page should be directed to Theresa McDevitt . Questions
concerning this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu> .
Please see IUP's statement  regarding pages that do not officially represent the university.
 Revised on 09/09.