|
|
Civil
War and Reconstruction
Reference Materials
Items found in the Library's reference department provide useful
introductions to subject areas and offer selective bibliographic leads. Consult
the following for background information on the American Civil War and
Reconstruction.
- American Civil War : a handbook
of literature and research. [REF] Z1242 .A47 1996
-
Civil War Books: A critical
bibliography [REF] Z1242.N35
- Civil War in the North: A
Selective Annotated Bibliography [REF] Z1242.M87 1987
- Civil War Eyewitnesses
[REF] Z 1242. C78 1988, [REF] Z 1242. C79 2000
- Encyclopedia of the American
Civil War : a political, social, and military history. [REF] E468 .E53
2000
- Freedom's Lawmakers : a
Directory of Black officeholders during Reconstruction [REF] E185.96.F
64 1993
- Women and the
American Civil War : an annotated bibliography [REF] Z1242 .M355
2003
Monographic Source
- The Libraries' book collection
includes works that offer comprehensive treatments of Civil War and
Reconstruction issues. Use Pilot our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the
full-text of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the
Internet.
- To search the catalogs of other
Pennsylvania Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, choose
PALCI from our web page. (To borrow items, log in using your
16-digit I-card number.)
- World
Cat--search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles. For items
not owned by our library, use
ILLIAD
to borrow them from other libraries.
-
Digital Dissertations -- Dissertation Abstracts and
full text for all digital dissertations from 1997 to present.
The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the
first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as
last semester.
Online books
General Online Sources of
Full-text Scholarly Journals and Magazines
Scholarly journals offer the most specific and
current treatment of historic topics. IUP patrons can access large
collections of such information through the following services. (To access these
databases from off-campus, use your 16 digit I-card number.) To if we have
access to the full-text of an journal electronically, do a journal title search
in
Pilot .
-
Ebsco
Host--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
newspapers, the bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to
Internet sites and information on local holdings of periodicals.
- Infotrac--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
- Project
MUSE -- provides more than 100 full-text online scholarly journals from
academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history,
the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political
science, gender studies, and many others.
-
JSTOR
-- Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies,
Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance,
History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population
Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for
archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each
title.
-
Duke E-Journals ON-CAMPUS
ONLY
or
VPN --
includes online access to twenty-nine Duke humanities and social science
journals.

-
American Periodicals Series Online
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY
or
VPN --
--
digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published
from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century including
groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck,
and McClure's.
Other local full-text Electronic
Sources
Online Reference Sources
Electronic Indexes
Electronic Versions of Books and Primary
Sources
Manuscripts and Archival Resources
Civil War Newspapers
Book Reviews
Internet Sites can provide valuable primary and
secondary sources for the study of History but often lack scholarly editorial
review so should be used with caution. Here are some examples of useful sites:
Finding Internet Sources
Citing What You Have Found:
|