|
|
Starting Points for Research on Careers
in Stapleton Library
Monographs
The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatment
of many subjects. Use Pilot, our
online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the full-text
version of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the
Internet.
Reference Items
Reference books are great places to begin your research. The following books are
useful in locating information on careers. Ask for them at the Reference desk.
Career Books
- Career Connection :A Guide to College
Majors and Their Related Careers [Ref] HF5382.5 U5R68
- Complete Guide to Occupational
Exploration Reference Desk
- Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational
Guidance [Ref] HF5381. E52 1993
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
[Ref] HF5381 Un3
- Pennsylvania Occupational Outlook Handbook
[Ref] HF382.5 U6P46
Index to Professional Associations
- Encyclopedia of Associations
Reference Desk
General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly
and Popular Magazines and Newspapers
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely
treatment of many issues. IUP patrons can access large collections of such
information through the following services. (To gain access at home to most
services, use your 16 digit I-card number.)
Newspapers--newspapers are some of the
most detailed and timely of sources--though not always the most scholarly. Try
the following databases for full-text access:
- Academic
Universe--full-text database includes the last twenty years of major
newspapers and many other useful sources.
- Newspaper
Source --Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and
international newspapers. Click on Newspaper Source .
Journals--journal
articles are of all sorts--popular, professional, and scholarly. Try the
following indexes for electronic access: [If the service asks for a number for
access put in your I-card number without spaces.]
- Ebsco
Host--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
newspapers, the bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to
Internet sites and information on local holdings of periodicals.
- Infotrac--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
- Other Indexes. You also may wish to look at
the complete list of these under
Articles and More/
All Databases on our web page.
Internet Sources
Internet Sites can provide useful information on careers--try the following
sites:
-
America's
Career InfoNet (ACINet)
Occupational and employment information, including overviews of the job market
for the U.S. and for all fifty states.
-
America's Job Bank -- search a database of
one million job postings
-
BlackCareerZone.com-- provides information about
career development with an emphasis on
Black job seekers. It provides links to job search sites, and information
about writing resumes and cover letters, interviewing, and salary negotiation.
Created by Beatryce Nivens.
-
Black Collegian Online --
a career exploration and
job search website.
-
Career City -- allows you to search for
jobs by category or location.
-
Carreerbuilders-- job search site.
-
Career Development eManual -- for
university students, it shows how to assess one's personality,
aptitudes, and values and how to match these to potential occupations,
gives advice on job hunting, practices, and reassessing one's
career progress. From the University
of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.
-
CareerJournal-- Current career
and job information, plus thousands of searchable listings of executive,
management, and professional positions. Content from the Wall Street
Journal.
-
CareerOneStop--This government site is the "nation's
publicly-funded resource for jobseekers and businesses.
-
Employment
911 -- allows you to post resumes and search for jobs.
-
Getajob.com
-- allows you to create a job profile and online resume.
-
Headhunter.net -- international job bank
-
Holland's
Occupational Themes --offers sample self-assessment exercise.
-
IUP Office of Career
Services--IUP's guide to information on careers.
-
Job Center --locate jobs and post
resumes.
-
Jobs.com -- provides resources for
writing resumes, finding a job, and online career fairs.
-
Job Hunter's Bible -- much useful
information for job hunters and career counselors.
-
Job Star -- state and
worldwide job search guides.
-
-
Job Web -- employment statistics and
salaries.
-
Kansas State University.
Academic and Career Information Center. Career information by
Academic Industry Area.
-
Monster
Board -- information on job opportunities.
-
Occupational Outlook Handbook-- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
provides career information by occupation in this e-version of this
classic work.
- Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet -
offers information on careers and job opportunities.
- USA
Jobs --database of more than 17,000 job opportunities.
-
WomensMedia.com -- This
Web site aims to provide "in-depth material to help working women advance."
Finding Your Own Internet Sources
Search engines and subject directories provide access to the wide variety of
information available on the Internet. For a selection of large web indexes try Librarians
Index to the Internet
Evaluating Sites
For information on how to evaluate information
found on the Internet, try the following sites:
Citing What You Have Found:
|