|
|
Art
Monographic Sources
- The Libraries' book collection includes
works that offer comprehensive treatments of art related topics. Use
PILOT,
our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the
full-text of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the
Internet.
- To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania
Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, choose Books and More/
PALCI from our web page. (To borrow items, log in using your 16-digit
I-card number.)
- For more resources, search WorldCat
for bibliographic records from libraries
across the county. Materials found there are often available via
Interlibrary Loan.
Periodical Articles
To find references to current
periodical articles, first consult one or more of the electronic l indexes
listed below. (To access these databases from off-campus, use your 16 digit
I-card number.)
Specialized Indexes
- Art
Abstracts-- indexes and abstracts
journals from more than 313 periodicals worldwide, as well as yearbooks,
museum bulletins, and reproductions.
General Indexes
-
EBSCO
Host--access to the full-text of
over one thousand periodicals and newspapers, the bibliographic references
to thousands more, and links to Internet sites and information on local
holdings of periodicals.
- Searchbank/Infotrac--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
-
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe- full-text database includes the last twenty years of local,
national, and international newspapers and many other useful sources.
- Project MUSE
-- provides more than 100 full-text online scholarly journals from academic
presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual
and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender
studies, and many others.
Electronic Journals
Older articles
Full-text electronic indexes are quite
convenient—but many will not pick up older literature--to search for articles
in older journals, try these titles in the Index Area.
- Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts.
[INDEX] AM1 .A7
- Art Index. [INDEX] N1 A 78
- ARTBibliographies Modern [INDEX] N1
A79
Internet Sources
Search the Internet through subject directories and search engines available
through Infopeople's Best
Search Tools.
Useful sites include:
-
AskART.com - Over
25,000 North American artists - painters, sculptors, and illustrators - are
listed in this searchable resource.
-
WebMuseum, Paris--artists
index -- site
includes information on mostly European art, from Gothic to 20th
Century, and more than 150 artists with
biographical information and images of their work.
Citing What You Have Found:
|