Resources for Archaeology


The following resources are easily found in the library's on-line catalog by doing a subject search on the term archaeology. The result is at least 90 different headings that are divided by format (ex. abstract, periodical, bibliography, dictionary, encyclopedia), and also divided by geographic location (ex. Europe, Asia, China, United States, etc.) or divided by type (ex. cultural, history, fieldwork, research, methodology, etc.). The following are examples of the various resources. There are many others available. Items listed are in Stapleton Reference unless otherwise noted.
| Abstracts and Indexes | Atlases | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Handbooks, Guides, Miscellany | Internet Resources |

ABSTRACTS AND INDEXES

  • Abstracts in Anthropology - 1970-present.
    Although entitled anthropology, this abstract indexes the almost twenty different archaeology periodicals that the library receives.
    I/A 300

  • Index of Archaeological Papers, 1665-1890
    R 016.9142 G586n
  • Archaeology, A Bibliographical Guide to the Basic Literature (1980)
    R 016.9301 H366a

  • ATLAS

  • World Atlas of Archaeology
    R 930.1 W893r
  • Past Worlds: The Times Atlas of Archaeology
    R 912 P268a
  • Atlas of Classical Archaeology
    R 912.3 At65a

  • DICTIONARIES

  • Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology
    R 930.103 M588d
  • Collins Dictionary of Archaeology
    R 930.103 C697L
  • Facts on File Dictionary of Archaeology
    R 930.103 F119a
  • The American Heritage Guide to Archaeology
    R 913.031 B739a

  • ENCYCLOPEDIAS

  • The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology
    R 930.103 C144a
  • The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Archaeology
    R 930.103 IL6L

  • HANDBOOKS, GUIDES, MANUALS AND MISCELLANY

  • A Complete Manual of Field Archaeology
    R 930.1 J824c
  • A Thesaurus of British Archaeology
    R 936.1 Ad 53t
  • The Great Archaeologists
    Published in 1976, this book contains useful biographical information.
    930.16798r Oversize Book (third floor of library)

  • INTERNET RESOURCES

    In searching the WWW, by using a search engine such as Alta Vista and typing "Archaeology Resources" as the search terms the following sites were discovered and browsed for their usefulness.

  • ArchNet - (http://www.lib.uconn.edu/archnet/)
    ArchNet serves as the World Wide Web Virtual Library for Archaeology. This server provides access to archaeological resources available on the Internet. Information is categorized by geographic region and subject. This site is updated often and includes a link to SAAweb - the Society for American Archaeology

  • ArchNet Europe - (http://www.bham.ac.uk/ARGE/)
    Archaeological Resource Guide for Europe or (ARGE), is an ordered collection of hypertext links pointing to current archaeological communication and information resources across Europe. Using the buttons provided, links can be accessed by country, by subject, by time period or by database search.

  • Classical Archaeology Resources - (http://www.reading.ac.uk/AcaDepts/la/Arch/classics.html)
    This site is based largely on the collection of links produced by the University of Michigan and includes Research centers, Journals, Bibliographies and Directories, Archaeological Sites and Miscellany. Check this out if you have a long time to browse.

  • Archaeological Resources - Department of Archaeology Sciences - (http://www.brad.ac.uk/acad/archsci/subject/archaeo.html)
    This list with resources to archaeology is part of a service maintained by the Department of Archaeological Services, University of Bradford. This list does not mirror all the lists of archaeology pages already available, but rather serves as a pointer to them, and especially to those not well represented elsewhere.


    Many other searches can be done on the Web for information about specific archaeological sites or archaeologists just by typing the name or area you wish to search in quotes. The following are examples of sites from such a search. There are many others.


  • WWW Sites for Archaeologists - (http://gpu.srv.ualberta.ca/~abeaudoi/cap/archaeol.htm)
    This list reflects a selection of Web sites which contain information of relevance to archaeologists. Sites are arranged in many catagories including: Classical Archaeology, Computer applications for archaeologists, Journals and publications, government agencies, etc..

  • Archaeological Sites of the Southwest - (http://cac.psu.edu/~ghb1/anasazi.html)
    This is a catalog of prehistoric archaeological sites in the four corners states of the American Southwest. It includes a description of ruins with pictures and links to more information.

  • See also the Argus Clearinghouse.
    Mission Statement: "The Argus Clearinghouse provides a central access point for value-added topical guides which identify, describe, and evaluate Internet-based information resources. Our mission is to facilitate intellectual access to information resources on the Internet."

  • LibWeb Connections: | Library Main Menu | Catalog | Databases | Internet | Website Map |
         I U P Connections | IUP | IUP CWIS | Academic Affairs | SSHE |

    URL=http://www.lib.iup.edu/instruction/guides//archaeology.html       Filename: archaeology.html
    Content provided by Susan Drummond. HTML conversion and editing by Web Master.
    Last modified: 4/21/2000.
    Comments on this site and its contents are welcome; contact our Site Designer.