FINDING INFORMATION ON ANTIQUES
AND AMERICAN HISTORY
Encyclopedias
General and subject specific encyclopedias provide useful introductions to
antiques and popular culture items and their significance to American History
and often offer
selective bibliographic leads. Consult those behind the Reference Desk in the
first floor Reference Area, in the Reference Collection, or the
electronic Funk
& Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (from
off-campus go to EBSCOhost
and choose from title listing), or try other reference
materials available from the
Internet Public library. Monographs
The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatment
of many subjects. Choose Books and
More/Online Catalog, to search PILOT, our
online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the full-text
of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the Internet.
To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries and to borrow from them
directly, choose
Books and More/PALCI from our web page. (To borrow items, log in using your 16-digit I-card
number.)
General Online Sources of Full-text
Scholarly and Popular Magazines and Newspapers
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely
treatment of many issues. IUP patrons can access large collections of such
information through the following services. (To gain access at home to the first
two, use your 16 digit I-card number.)
- Ebsco
Host--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
newspapers, the bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to
Internet sites and information on local holdings of periodicals.
- Infotrac/Searchbank--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
- Academic
Universe- full-text database includes the last twenty years of local,
national, and international newspapers and many other useful sources.
Specialized Indexes
Though large general databases offering full-text are easy to use, sometimes the
source of the most scholarly and most relevant information is a specialized
index. You also may wish to look at the complete list of these under Databases
on our web page. Here are some examples:
Internet Sources
Search engines and subject directories provide access to the wide variety of
information available on the Internet. Try the selection available at the Infopeople's
Best Search Tools.
For information on how to evaluate information
found on the Internet, try the following:
Citing What You Find
Links to Online Library Services
Stapleton Library offers a range of electronic services such as Interlibrary
Loan ordering, reference assistance, and suggestion submission from its web
page. Please try our Electronic
Services.
Notable Web Pages
For assistance with research, come to the
reference desk or phone us at 724-357-3006.
|