Library Resources for Anthropology
The following resources are easily found in the library's on-line catalog by doing a subject search on the term anthropology. The result is at least 93 different headings that are divided by format (ex. index, abstract, periodical, bibliography, dictionary, encyclopedia), and also divided by geographic location (ex. Asia, China, United States, etc.) or divided by type (ex. cultural, history, fieldwork, research etc.). The following are selected examples of the various resources. There are many others available. Items listed are in Stapleton Reference unless otherwise noted.
| Abstracts and Indexes |
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries |
Bibliographies |
Atlases and Handbooks |
Internet Resources |
ABSTRACTS AND INDEXES
- Abstracts in Anthropology
- Covers a broad spectrum of current anthropological topics from several hundred periodicals.
- I/A 300
- Anthropological Index
- Bibliographic quarterly of the Royal Anthropological Institute.
- I/A 300
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
- International Dictionary of Anthropologists (1991)
- This volume also contains biographical information.
- R 301.092 In8t
- Anthropology A to Z
- R 572.03 H353
- Dictionary of Anthropology
- R 301.203 W727d
- Encyclopedia of Anthropology
- R 301.203 En19c
- Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology
- R 301 C738m
- Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary
- R 301.092 W842m
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Anthropological Bibliographies: A Selected Guide (1981)
- R 016.016301 An86t
- Current Research in Anthropology: A Catalog of Doctoral Dissertations
- R 016.3012 Un3as
- Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology
- R 016.301 W418i
- Serial Publications in Anthropology
- This is a bibliography of anthropology periodicals.
- R 016.301205 L616s
ATLASES AND HANDBOOKS
Atlas for Anthropology
R 301.201 sp34a2
Student Anthropologist's Handbook: A Guide to Research, Training and Career.
R 301.207 F857s
Handbook of Social and Cultural Anthropology
R 301.2 H757h
INTERNET RESOURCES
In searching the WWW, by using a search engine such as Alta Vista and typing Anthropology Resources as the search terms the following sites were discovered and browsed for their usefulness.
- Anthropology Resources (http://lucy.ukc.ac.uk/resources.html)
- This site exhibits lots of anthropology research projects for many locations around the world as well as general anthropology resources. Find software for anthropologists and reviews of books. Full text articles in leading anthropology periodicals as well as links to other anthropology resources on the Internet, including the anthropology WWW virtual library, the archives of the anthropology mailing list and anthropology-related Gophers and Usenet newsgroups.
- Anthropology Resources on the Internet (http://www.nitehawk.com/alleycat/anth-faq.html)
- Last but not least, the place to get started may be here. Compiled by Allen Lutins and updated regularly, it contains a menu of options to various contents of anthropology information, including Bitnet and Internet Discussion groups, Programs and files via anonymous FTP, Gopher Servers, WWW servers in specific disciplines, Commercial Sites and Academic Departments, Electronic journals and Archives.
- Two other well-regarded Internet sites.
- Anthropology Department, SUNY Buffalo (http://www.buffalo.edu/academic/department/anthropology/)
- University of California, Santa Barbara (http://www.sscf.ucsb.edu:80/anth/).
- See also the Argus Clearinghouse.
- Mission Statement: "The Argus Clearinghouse provides a central access point for value-added topical guides which identify, describe, and evaluate Internet-based information resources. Our mission is to facilitate intellectual access to information resources on the Internet."
LibWeb Connections: | Library Main Menu
| Catalog
| Databases
| Internet
| Website Map
|
I U P Connections
| IUP
| IUP CWIS
| Academic Affairs
| SSHE
|
URL=http://www.lib.iup.edu/instruction/guides/anthro.html Filename: anthro.html