|
Library
Hours
Administration/Info
Chat
Reference Service
Credited Courses
Departments
How Do I
Library Giving
Search The Web
What's New
Site Map
Feedback and Suggestions
|
Finding Information in American Politics
Government and commercial publications which document the work
of the government are essential to those who wish to understand the U.S.
government.
Background information on Government
Agencies and Congressional Activity:
-
United States Government
Manual
—information on structure and activities of the federal government.
Ask at the reference desk in Stapleton Library for paper edition. On the web
at:
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/index.html.
-
Agency web sites
--most
government bodies have their own web sites that are valuable sources of
information on their mission, personnel, and services.
-
Congressional Directory.
Directory of members of Congress. Ask at reference desk for
most recent copy in Stapleton Library.
-
House of Representatives Web Page
-
Senate Web Page
- Congressional Record-
proceedings of debates and daily digest of the United State House
and Senate.
- Congressional Digest--located in the
Serials Department, this publications provides information on Congressional
Activity.
- Thomas--
this frequently updated sites provides information on the text and status of
proposed and passed federal legislation
- CIS Index The hearings, documents, and
reports of the United States Senate and House of Representatives provide
valuable, authoritative information on nearly every topic, but can be
difficult to locate. The CIS Index analyzes and reprints in its
microfiche collection, the publications created through the activities of
Congress and makes finding them much easier. To access the bibliographic
records, descriptive annotations, and the actual publication on microfiche:
- Consult the index under subject, title, or
name, and record the entry number.
- Look in the abstract volume under the entry
number and read the abstract.
- If you want to read the publication
microfiche, request it in the Serials Department by the collection name
(CIS) entry number, and year of the index.
-
Also available
electronically as
Congressional Universe.
-
Congressional Quarterly's
Washington Information Directory—contains information on the structure and
activities of the federal government as well as government-related
organizations. Ask at the reference desk in Stapleton Library
-
Congressional Districts and
Apportionment--the decennial census (every ten years) has been taken since
1790 to determine population on which to reapportion the House of
Representatives. See the following publication by the Bureau of the Census to
look at trends in apportionment in the last few decades
http://www.census.gov/prod/2001pubs/c2kbr01-7.pdf
Statistical Information:
Codes and
Regulations:
Elections
-
Federal Elections
Commission -- (FEC)
is an independent regulatory agency designed to disclose campaign
finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits
and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of
Presidential elections.
Public Affairs
-
PAIS International-- index provides
access to the literature of public affairs—current issues and
actions that affect world communities, countries, people, and governments.
[INDEX] H96 .P9
Search engines which search retrieve government
websites:
Finding Information on American Politics Tutorial
Questions or comments concerning this page should be directed to
Theresa McDevitt. Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its
maintainer, Ed Zimmerman,
edzimmer@iup.edu> . Please see IUP's
statement regarding pages that do not officially represent the university.
Revised on 09/03/07.
|