Text Box: East Asia

IUP Seal

Indiana University of Pennsylvania
 
your-office
Text Box: Resources for Asian Studies in Stapleton Library

 

 

 

 

 

 


Reference Resources | Books/Journals | Full Text Databases | Government Documents | Internet Resources

 

Reference Resources 

 

The Dictionary of Oriental literatures

[REF] PJ31 .D55

 

Wisdom of the Far East; a dictionary of proverbs, maxims, and famous classical phrases of the Chinese, Japanese, and Korean

[REF] PN6511 .Y6

 

Modern China : a guide to a century of change

Includes bibliographical references (p. [508]-514) and index.

[REF] DS774 .H796 2001

 

Historical dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China)

Revised edition. of: Historical dictionary of Taiwan. 1993.
Includes bibliographical references (p. 209-267) and index.

[REF] DS798.96 .C67 2000

 

China bibliography : a research guide to reference works about China past and present

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

[REF] Z3016 .Z87 1999

 

The Cold War, 1945-1991

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
[REF] D839.5 .C65 1992

 

Historical dictionary of the Republic of Korea

Includes bibliographical references (p. 241-293).

[REF] DS904.8 .N34 2004

 

Encyclopedia of the Korean War : a political, social, and military history

Includes bibliographical references and index.

[REF] DS918 .E53 2000

 

Historical dictionary of North Korea

Includes bibliographical references (p. 185-209).

[REF] DS933.7 .K55 2003

 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Japan

Includes bibliographical references (p. 377-384) and index.

[REF] DS805 .C36 1993

 

Encyclopedia of Japan : Japanese history and culture, from abacus to zori

Includes bibliographical references (p. 394-401) and index.

[REF] DS805 .P47 1990

 

Japanese names and how to read them : a manual for art- collectors and students

[REF] PL683 .K661 1995

                                                                                                                                             Back to Top

Books/Journals

 

Books and journals about East Asia can be located by searching Pilot, the online library catalog.  To search the catalog, select "Books and More..." at IUP library's web site, and then click on "On line catalog".  At the Guided Search window, type a term/terms, e.g. education, in the first box, type another term or terms, e.g. east asia, in the second box and hit "Enter" key.  The result list shows both book and journal titles.  If you are interested in a book, get the call number for that book so that you can retrieve it from the stacks.  If it is a journal and not full text online, you can retrieve it from Serials Department on the ground floor.  The journals are arranged alphabetically by titles on the shelves.

You can also search Net library to find a book of your interest and read it online.

Listed below are some of the serials on East Asia Stapleton library holds.

 

Chinese Historical Review

Library has:  v. 12, no. 1 (2005 Spring), v. 11, no. 2 (2004 Fall), v. 11, no. 1 (2004 Spring)

Location:  Serials Department

 

China report - Red Flag (Hong Qi)

Library has: 1978-1985

Location:  Serials Department, Micro Area

 

China reconstructs (Zhongguo Jianshe)

Library has:  v 9-19 1960-1970 (MF), v 22-26 1973-1977 (MF), v 27-29 1978-1980 (printed), v 30 1981 (MF)
v 31-38 1982-1989 (Printed)

Continued by China today (Jinri Zhongguo)

Library has: v 39-40 1990-1991

Location:  Serials Department

 

The Japan architect

Library has: v 44-54, 1969-1979

Location:  Serials Department

 

Japan quarterly (Asahi Shinbunsha)

Library has:  v 1 1954, v 2 1955, v 4-12 1957-1965, v 17 1970, v 20-46 1973-1999

Location:  Serials Department

 

Korea & world affairs

Library has:  v 7 - v.15, 1983-1991
Location:  Serials Department

 

Online Full Text Journals and Databases

 

Full-text journal articles related to East Asian can be located from numerous databases subscribed by IUP library.  To search these databases, select "Articles and More..." from the library's web site and then click on " All databases".   The databases are arranged alphabetically by titles.  Listed below are just a few of the journals focusing on various issues of East Asia and selected from the databases of Ebsco Host, Jstor, Project Muse, and Business Source Premier.  IUP I-card is required to use these online resources.

 

Chinese Education & Society

Description:  Offers unabridged translations of the more important Chinese studies in education and society from Chinese journals, newspapers and collections of articles published in book form.

Peer Reviewed:  Yes

 

Chinese Law & Government

Description:  Contains unabridged translations of significant policy documents & scholarly works in the field of law, politics, and government published originally in China.

Peer Reviewed:  Yes

 

East Asia: An International Quarterly

Description:  Examines the interplay between politics and culture underlying major developments in China, Japan, Korea, and the Pacific Rim.

Peer Reviewed:  Yes

 

Japan Forum

Description:  Provides scholarly articles on Japanese culture & history.                                    Back to Top

Peer Reviewed:  Yes

 

Japanese Studies

Description:  Covers all aspects of Japanese culture, including postwar politics and society, international relations, environmental issues, business and economics, literature, history, the legal system, gender studies, and more.

Peer Reviewed:  Yes

 

Korean Studies

Description:  Publishes interdisciplinary, and multicultural articles covering topics related to Korea, the Korean community abroad, as well as Asian, ethnic, and comparative studies.

Peer Reviewed:  Yes

 

More full text journal articles related to East Asia can be found from the following databases.

Academic Search Premier

Business Source Premier

JSTOR

Project MUSE

Sociological Collection       

 

Government Documents

 

Government publications provide valuable research information about East Asia.  As one of the government depository libraries, Stapleton library houses selective government documents in various formats.  They can be located by searching Pilot, the library's on line catalog, and the government web sites as listed below.  The documents are shelved at the library's Government Document section at the back of the first floor and arranged by SuDoc (Superintendent of Documents)  number.

 

FirstGov.gov

It is the U.S. government's official gateway to thousands of government resources and information about government agencies, state, local and tribal governments, as well as statistics and laws/regulations.  Search by key words/topic is also available at this web site.

 

GPO Access

The web site of the U.S. Government Printing Office offers a free access to a large quantity of official resources from the Federal Government, including legislative, executive judicial resources and etc.  It is a fully searchable database.  Listed below are some of the documents about East Asian region collected by GPO Access.  They also can be accessed through Pilot.

Asian perspectives on the challenges of China (PDF file)

China making the case for realistic engagement (PDF file)

China rising new challenges to the U.S. security posture (PDF file)

Japanese Education in Grades K-12.

The United States and Japan advancing toward a mature partnership. (PDF file)

Resolving Korea's nuclear crisis tough choices for China  (PDF file)

Planning for a peaceful Korea  (PDF file)                                                                    Back to Top

 

Country Studies - East Asian Countries

Created by Federal Research Division, Library of Congress, this web site provides "description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world".

Listed below are the major countries with information available from Country Studies.

China | Japan | North Korea | South Korea

 

Declassified Documents about South Asia

Thousands of declassified documents released by FBI, CIA and other Federal agencies are valuable resources for research in history, political science, foreign relations, national security and etc. Under Freedom of Information Act, request of those documents can be sent to a specific agency that owns the requested document.  The agencies also provide the public with internet access to documents once considered as top national secret or confidential.  A brief listing of such documents about East Asia is provided below.

Tracking the Dragon:  Selected National Intelligence Estimates on China, 1948-1976

(Stapleton Library has a printed copy with CD shelved at Government Document section on the first floor.  Prex 3.21:C44)

Soviet Policy in East Asia

Chinese Expectations for Jiang's Visit to the United States

Japan in the Seventies:  the Problems

Main Trends in Japan's External Relations

The Likelihood of Major Hostilities in Korea

 

For more declassified documents, search the the following web sites.

National Security Agency

The Digital National Security Archive

CIA Electronic Reading Room

Declassified Records - NARA                                                                                         Back to Top

 

Selected Internet Resources

 

Asia-Studies Full-text Online

It provides access to "full-text reports covering 53 countries* on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues".

 

The Ancient East Asia

This web site focuses on archaeology and prehistory of China, Japan and Korea including a bibliography of western-language works on East Asian archaeology.

 

China and East Asia Chronology

Created by History Department, North Park University, Chicago, this web site provides chronological listing of important events of China and Japan.

 

East Asian Resources

Prepared by East Asian Center, University of Virginia, this site provides a "long list of links to on-line resources related to the study of East Asia.

 

Teaching About Asia:  Resources for Teachers

Created by  Duke University library, it contains links to online resources related to East Asia.

                                                                                           Back to Top

 


 

Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its maintainer, Webmaster, <edzimmer@iup.edu> . Please see IUP's statement regarding pages that do not officially represent the university. Last UPdated 03/22/05.