|

Reference Resources |
Books/Journals | Full Text
E-Journals |
Government
Documents | Internet Resources
Reference Resources
The reference materials at Stapleton Library for Asian studies provide handy and
reliable information for students to begin a research in this field . The items
listed below are located at the library's reference area behind the central reference desk.
Columbia chronologies of Asian history
and culture
[REF] DS33 .C63 2000
Encyclopedia of modern Asia :
[REF] DS4 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of world cultures
(Includes bibliographical references,
filmographies, and indexes) [REF]
GN307 .E53 1991
Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life
(Includes bibliographical references
and indexes.) [REF] GN333 .W67 1998
Dictionary of Asian mythology
[REF] BL1005 .L46 2001
The Cambridge guide to Asian theatre
[REF] PN2860
.C35 1993
Constitutions of Asian countries
(Includes bibliographies)
[REF] JF11 .A75
The history atlas of Asia
[REF] G2201.S1 B25 1998
Bibliography of Asian studies. [REF]
Z3001 .B49 (Library has online version
of this title. To use online version, please select "Articles and More at
library's web site, and then select Bibliography of Asian Studies from "All
Databases".)
Asian social science bibliography, with annotations and
abstracts 1966
[REF] Z7165.A8 G5 1970
Asian almanac.
(Weekly
abstract of Asian affairs)
LIBRARY HAS :
v 10-11 1972-1973 Back Stacks
v 13-16 1975-1978 Back Stacks
Serials
Department
Asia: a selected and annotated guide
to reference works
[REF] Z3001 .N79
Asia: a handbook.
(Includes bibliographies) [REF] DS5
.W5
Asia and the Pacific
(Includes bibliographical references and index)
[REF] DS5 .A79 1991
Theses on Asia; accepted by
universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, 1877-1964
[REF] Z3001 .B56
Back to Top
Books/Journals
Books and journals about Asian
studies can be located by searching
Pilot, the online library catalog. To search the catalog, select
"Books and More..." at IUP library's web site,
and then click on "On line catalog". At the Guided Search window, type a
term/terms, e.g. economics, in the first box, type another term or terms, e.g.
Asia, in the second box and hit "Enter" key. The result list shows both
book and journal titles. If you are interested in a book, get the call
number for that book so that you can retrieve it from the stacks.
If it is a journal and not full text online, you can retrieve it from Serials Department on the ground floor.
The journals are arranged alphabetically by titles on the shelves.
You can also search
Net library to find a book of your
interest and read it on line.
Listed below are some of the serials on Asian
Studies Stapleton library holds.
Asian studies
professional review
Library has: v 1-5 1971-1976 ( MF)
Location: Serials Department, Micro Area.
Note: Online full text is available from 1998 to 2004. (Restricted to IUP
authenticated users only0.
The Far Eastern
quarterly Library has:
v 1-15 1941-1956 (MF) Location:
Serials Department, Micro Area. Note:
Continued by Journal of Asian studies
The Journal of
Asian Studies Library
has: v 16-20 1956-1961 (MF)
v 21-36 1961-1976 (printed)
v 36-45 1976-1986 (MF)
v 45-60 1985-2001 (printed) Location:
Serials Department
Online
Full Text
Journals and
Databases
Full-text journal articles
related to Asian studies can be located from numerous databases subscribed by
IUP library. To search these databases, select "Articles and More..." from
the library's web site and then click on " All databases". The
databases are arranged alphabetically by titles. Listed below are just a
few of the journals focusing on various issues of Asia and selected from the databases of Ebsco Host, Jstor,
Project Muse, and Business Source Premier. IUP I-card is required to use these online
resources.
Harvard Journal of Asiatic
Studies Description:
Each issue contains four to five feature articles on topics involving the
history, arts, social sciences, philosophy, and contemporary issues of East,
South, and Southeast Asia, as well as a large book review section.
Peer Reviewed: Yes
Asian Survey
Description: Provides in-depth analysis
on contemporary Asia and international affairs.
Peer Reviewed: Yes
Modern Asian Studies
Description: Promotes an understanding of
contemporary Asia and its rich inheritance. It covers South Asia,
Southeast Asia, China, and Japan.
Peer Reviewed: Yes
Asia Pacific Business Review
Description: Addresses the rising presence of
multinationals in world markets and the origins of national economic success.
Draws together the lessons of economics, history, politics & culture in order to
explore business in the Asia Pacific countries.
Peer Reviewed: Yes
Asian Economic Journal
Description: Includes information on the
investigation of current research, international comparisons and country studies
relating to East Asian economics.
Peer Reviewed: Yes
Asian Affairs: An American Review
Description: Focuses on United States policy in
Asia, as well as the domestic politics, economic and international relations of
the Asian countries; aimed at readers wanting relevant information on Asia,
teachers, political analysts, and international businessmen.
Peer Reviewed: Yes
Asian Journal of Political Science
Description: Publishes articles in the four
sub-fields of political theory, comparative politics, international relations
and public administration. The main focus is on Asia and issues relevant to this
area.
Peer Reviewed: Yes
For more journal articles, search the following databases
Academic Search Premier
Business Source Premier
JSTOR
OMNIFILE FULLTEXT
Project MUSE
Sociological
Collection
Back to Top
U.S.
Government
Publications
Government publications provide valuable research information for Asian studies. As one of the government depository
libraries,
Stapleton library houses selective
government documents in various formats. They can be located by
searching
Pilot, the library's on line catalog, and the
government web sites as listed below. The government documents are
shelved at the library's Government Document section at the back of the first
floor and arranged by SuDoc (Superintendent
of Documents) number.
FirstGov.gov
It is the U.S. government's official gateway to thousands of government
resources and information about government agencies, state, local and tribal
governments, as well as statistics and laws/regulations. Search by key
words/topic is also available at this web site.
GPO Access
The web site of the U.S. Government Printing Office offers a free access to a
large quantity of official resources from the Federal Government, including
legislative, executive judicial resources and etc.
It is a fully searchable database. Listed below are some of the documents
about Asian region collected by GPO Access. They also can be accessed
through Pilot.
Asian security to
the year 2000
Asian perspectives on the challenges of China, March 7-8, 2000
Asian medicinals questions and answers
The
Asia-Pacific in the U.S.
national security calculus for a new millennium
Country Studies
Created by Federal Research Division, Library of Congress, this web site
provides "description and analysis of the historical setting and the social,
economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries
throughout the world".
Declassified Documents Related to Asia
Thousands of declassified documents released by FBI, CIA and other Federal
agencies are valuable resources for research in history, political science,
foreign relations, national security and etc. Under Freedom of Information Act,
request of those documents can be sent to a specific agency that owns the
requested document.
The agencies also provide the public with internet
access to documents once considered as top national secret or confidential. A brief listing of such documents about Asia is provided
below.
The Kurds: Rising Expectations, Old Frustrations
Saddam Husayn: Likely to hang on
International Crime Threat Assessment
Iran Under Rafsanjani: Seeking a New Role in the World Community
Source:
CIA-Electronic Reading Room
More
declassified documents can be located from the following web sites:
National Security Agency
The Digital National Security
Archive
CIA Electronic Reading Room
Declassified Records - NARA
Selected
Internet
Resources
Asian
Studies WWW Virtual Library (Australian National University)
Established 11 years ago, this virtual library for Asian Studies "provides an
authoritative, continuously updated hypertext guide and access tool to scholarly
information resources on the Internet. It deals with the Asian continent as a
whole, as well as with individual Asian regions, countries, and territories".
AccessAsia
Established in 1990 by the National
Bureau of Asian Research (NBR), United States, it is
the "first clearinghouse to track the expertise and current research of
specialists on policy-related issues in Asia". It provides an online
searchable database free of charge.
Asia History and Studies (H-Asia)
As a member of H-Net Humanities
& Social Sciences OnLine, H-Asia enables people in the field of Asian Studies
to "discuss new articles, books, papers, approaches, methods and tools of
analysis" and etc.
Asian Week
It is a full text
online magazine, but it stopped publication with Dec.1, 2001
issue. Online archives are available and fully searchable,
covering 1995 - 2001.
Portal to Asian Internet
Resources
Based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, it enables people to "have quick
and easy access to high quality Web resources originating in Asia identified,
evaluated, selected and cataloged by area library specialists".
Windows on Asia
Created by Asian Studies
Center, Michigan State University for K-12 teachers who are interested in
bringing Asia into the classroom, it provides information about Asia in general
and individual Asian countries. Students of all ages may also find this a
useful starting point for their research on Asia, as the web site creator
introduced.
Back to Top
|