Starting Points for Nutrition Research at
Stapleton Library
Getting Started
Formulating a search strategy-- regardless of what subject a researcher is
investigating,
taking time to develop a search strategy is the best way to begin research.
The Libraries' book
collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatments of nutrition
related issues. Use PILOT,
our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the
full-text of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the
Internet.
Modern libraries find it
difficult to own everything in their local collections that their users need
and have formed borrowing networks to share materials.
PALCI (Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium,
Inc.) is cooperative borrowing network that allows users to access a web
gateway which allows simultaneous searching of academic library catalogs in
Pennsylvania. Many items found in PALCI can be directly requested by
authorized users from participating institutions.
We urge our users to search
PALCI first,
and directly borrow desired items using their 16 digit I-Card number.
WorldCat is a huge database of
records for millions of books and internet materials. It is an excellent place
to look for bibliographic information on materials not owned by our libraries.
To borrow materials cited in WorldCat and not owned by our library , use the
electronic ILLIAD There is no cost for this service
and no limit on the number of items you can borrow.
MEDLINEplus Health Information
--contains information on health topics, generic and
brand-name drug information, spelling and definitions of medical terms,
directories of doctors and healthcareproviders, consumer health information,
and more.
Merck Manual - 17th Edition--The Merck Manual
provides extensive coverage of the medical field, focusing on diseases and
disorders, including discussion of treatments and drug uses and therapies.
General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly
and Popular Magazines
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely
treatment of many issues. IUP patrons can access large collections of such
information through the following services. (To gain access at home, use your 16
digit I-card number.)
academic multi-disciplinary database,
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly
publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals.
Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information
dating as far back as 1975.
InfoTrac
OneFile --From
arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this
database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access
scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and
images!
-- provides
full text for over 255 health periodicals, over 1,065 health pamphlets, and
23 health reference books. This database is updated daily.
Research Databases
CINAHL
with Full Text--- database designed specifically to meet the informational needs of nurses
and allied health professionals. It is the equivalent to Cumulative Index to
Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations--
Dissertation Abstracts and full text for all digital dissertations from
1997 to present. The database includes bibliographic citations for materials
ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted
as recently as last semester.
Medline
-- National Library of Medicine's database which combines the paper indexes
Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, and Index to Dental Literature.
(To find entire journal name for medline abbreviation, go to
Entrez
Pubmed and choose Journals Database. )
Biological Abstracts--
leading indexing and abstracting reference source for life sciences
information covering journal literature published in over 70 countries.
Interface: Coverage: 1998-present.
MedScape-- For health professionals and interested
consumers, features peer-reviewed articles, "zoom-able" color graphics,
self-assessment features, medical news, Medline Reviews, and annotated links
to Internet resources.
PubMed-- is
a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes
of Health (NIH). It has been developed in conjunction with publishers of
biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and
linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
Indexes, Abstracts, and Bibliographies--Paper
Some comprehensive indexes are still available only in paper. Here a few:
Biological and Agricultural Index
[INDEX] QH301 B56
Food Science and Technology
Abstracts [INDEX] TP368. F678
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews
[INDEX] QP141. A1N86
Searching for Specific Journal Titles Bibliographic indexes and other
bibliographical references often provide you with a list of relevant
citations to materials that may or not be found in this Library.
To
determine this Library's paper, microform, and electronic holdings, search in our
PILOT, under Journal Title, and the years and volumes owned will be displayed.
Use
JAKE--to determine if
a journal is available in full-text from one of our electronic journal
collections or to determine where it is indexed.
Government Information
Marcive
WebDocs -- database corresponding
to the printed Monthly Catalog which contains approximately 50 percent of
the published government documents (others being classified or for in-house
use only). Citations from the annual Periodicals Supplement and the US
Congressional Serial Set Supplement are also included.
Firstgov---the
first-ever government web site to provide the public with easy, one-stop
access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources.
Google Uncle Sam--google search of only government information
sources.
Nutrition.gov--a
new federal resource that provides easy access to all online federal
government information on nutrition including information on healthy
eating, physical activity, and food safety.
Internet Sites
Directories
Nutrition
Navigator - Tufts University - An
excellent example of a specialized directory. It's a searchable and
browsable database of evaluated and categorized nutrition-related Web sites.
Each indexed site has been carefully evaluated by a nutritionist and rated
numerically in various categories. The site reviews contain brief
descriptions and discuss such things as bias and background. Browsing
categories include: Educators, Kids, Parents, Health Professionals, Special
Dietary Needs, and Women, and are arranged in order of rating. From the
Tufts University School of Nutrition Science and Policy.
American
Dietetic Association At this
searchable site, you can find nutrition and diet information; locate a
registered dietitian in your area; follow legislation related to food,
health, and nutrition policies; and link to numerous related sites, listed
by category.
InteliHealth
- Johns Hopkins Health - The major
content of this comprehensive health site is in the Health Library,
which contains the Johns Hopkins Encyclopedia: including Adult Health
(the heart of this A - Z encyclopedia), Pediatrics, Allergy, Nutrition,
Fitness, and more; Ask-the-Doc: searchable answers to thousands of
questions; Medications: a drug database - the U.S. Pharmacopeia,
including (when available) educational leaflets, photographs of pills, and
information from medicine charts that show dosage variations; and even more
information from the National Institutes of Health and the National Health
Council.
MEDLINEplus-
This directory site is designed to lead the user to resources containing
information that will help with researching their health questions. It
includes information from MEDLINE, links to self-help groups, medical
dictionaries, directories of doctors and hospitals, access to National
Institute of Health consumer-related organizations, clearinghouses,
health-related organizations, and a search databases section with dozens of
databases on topics such as clinical trials, nutrition, AIDS, cancer, etc.
AGRICOLA:
Agricultural Online Access - A
database of bibliographic records created by the National Agricultural
Library (NAL) and its cooperators, it covers materials dating from the 16th
century to the present. The records describe publications and resources
encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including
plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources,
agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products,
alternative farming practices, food and nutrition, agricultural trade and
marketing, rural information, and animal welfare. AGRICOLA does not contain
the materials themselves; but it can help you identify and find them.
Clinical
Pharmacology 2000 - This database
has information on prescription and over-the-counter drugs, herbs, and
nutritional supplements. It includes new and investigational drugs. Entries
cover use, interactions, dosage, adverse effects, and off-label uses.
Patient information is available for printing in both English and Spanish.
Users may also create and store personal medication records. Requires free
registration.
MedScape
-- For health professionals and interested consumers, features peer-reviewed
articles, "zoomable" color graphics, self-assessment features,
medical news, Medline Reviews, and annotated links to Internet resources.
Nutrient
Database (USDA)This searchable
database reports the nutrient values for approximately 5,900 foods.
Nutrition
Analysis Tool 2.0 - An excellent
tool for keeping track of your diet or looking up nutrition information on
almost any food item, including fast foods and foods by brand name. You can
create a personalized nutritional analysis by entering your food and
amounts, and gender and age. You then select which factors (calories, fats,
vitamins, etc.) you want analyzed. The results are available either HTML
table or printable text format. In addition, the advanced function will
suggest foods appropriate to balancing your diet.
PubMed--
PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology
Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the
National Institutes of Health (NIH). It has been developed in conjunction
with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing
literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of
participating publishers.
WriteNote - web-based bibliographic management system allows users to
create bibliographic databases with notes and instantly create notes and
bibliographies within Microsoft word. Available on-campus or off-campus with
VPN set-up.
Click here for users' manual.
EndNote -- world's most popular bibliographic
software allows users to create searchable bibliographic databases with notes,
draw bibliographic information from online catalogs and periodical databases,
and create within Microsoft Word instant bibliographic references and
bibliographies in any style. Students
can pick up copies of EndNote software with I-card at
IT Support Center
Suites on Grant - Lower, Suite G35
Phone: 724-357-4000
Email: it-support-center@iup.edu
web site: www.iup.edu/itsupportcenter
Links to Library Services
Stapleton Library offers a range of
services and electronic services for our users from Interlibrary Loan ordering, reference
assistance, and suggestion submission. Check out our guides to:
For more information on what services we
offer and where you can find them, take
a virtual tour.
Correspondence regarding this page should be sent to its creator,
T.McDevitt.
Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed
Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu>
.
Please see IUP's statement
regarding pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on
09/04