|
Library
Hours
Administration/Info
Chat
Reference Service
Credited Courses
Departments
How Do I
Library Giving
Search The Web
What's New
Site Map
Feedback and Suggestions
 |
New Databases for Fall 2003
The following databases are new for the Fall semester.
If you are interested in learning more about any of the databases you can come
to
workshops, have one-on-ones with any of our
reference
librarians. If you are interested in bringing your class in to learn
more about these databases place your request
here.
More to come...
-
Ageline
--is a searchable electronic database containing detailed
summaries of
publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and
magazine articles, research reports, and videos.
-
Annual
Reviews Online
--is a collection of authoritative, analytic reviews in 29
focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Annual Reviews publications are and have been among the most highly cited in
scientific literature.
-
Biography
Resource Center
A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people
from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and
subject areas.
-
Black
Drama ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--contains the full text of nearly 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to
the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking
Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works
are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection
will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston
Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph
Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
-
--approximately
100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews
written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to
1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political
science, American history, music, literature, and art. This database is
intended to present a wide range of previously inaccessible material,
including letters by athletes such as Jackie Robinson, correspondence by Ida
B. Wells, prefatory essays by Amiri Baraka, political leaflets by Huey
Newton, and interviews with Paul Robeson. Much of the material is fugitive,
and almost twenty percent of the collection has not been published
previously.
-
--the most comprehensive resource of its kind.
You can explore government in action with the most comprehensive online
resource available for Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation,
history, and legal research. It also allows in-depth research with access to
the full-text of more than 211 years worth of detailed information about
Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, voting
records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory
resources. Lexis-Nexis
-
Criminal
Justice Periodicals Index [CPLI] ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--is an
essential resource for both students and professionals in any criminal justice
field. The ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodical Index (CJPI) is the most
comprehensive database of its kind. It covers the following subject areas:
social sciences, education, and humanities. The overall dates of coverage are
1981 - present of 190 titles. CJPI can provide information on virtually any
criminal justice topic, including corrections administration, law enforcement,
social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family
law. The database offers ASCII text, image, and Text+Graphics coverage for
about 50 of the titles most frequently accessed by criminal justice
researchers. CJPI also include complete indexing and abstracts for another 140
relevant U.S. and international journals. Sample sources include American
Journal of Criminal Justice, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, International
Journal of Offender Therapy & Comparative Criminology, Journal of Forensic
Sciences, and Women Police.
-
Ethnic
NewsWatch ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--covers
news, culture and History from 240+ publications of ethnic, minority and
native presses. Designed to provide the "other side of the story", Ethnic
NewsWatch full text titles offer additional viewpoints from those
proffered by the mainstream press. Both English and Spanish language search
interfaces are provided. This does not affect the content.
-
Gale
Literary Index
-- A free online index to forty of Gale's printed
sources. A quick and easy way to locate biographies of authors and
critical essays on their writings. The entries include location
information only; not textual information is available.
-
Historical
New York Times
ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--offers
full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th
century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from
every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF® files. Overall
dates of coverage are 1851-2000 for The New York Times. This premier
newspaper database represents the first initiative to not only reach back into
the past to digitize historical newspaper information but also to provide that
information as both full-page-images and as article images. Researchers can
use the database to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor,
obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos,
stock photos, and advertisements. The date range searching tool lets users
search on, before, or between two dates.
-
International
Index to Music Periodicals - Full Text [IIMPFT]
ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--draws
its coverage from more than 400 international music periodicals from over 20
countries and 60 Full Text Titles. IIMP also
contains retrospective coverage dating back to 1874. Included in the current
and retrospective content are complete-run titles, from inception to the
present (or final) issue, and many partial run titles.
IIMP covers nearly all
aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest
crazes.
-
Literature
Resource Center
A complete literature reference database
designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the
sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical
content. It is the premier Internet resource for information on literary
figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction,
poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
-
Now in EbscoHost
MLA
International Bibliography
-- index produced by the Modern Language Association
consisting of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language,
linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to scholarly research in over
3,000 journals and series. Also covered are relevant monographs, working
papers, proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, and other formats.
Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1963-present.
- Now in EbscoHost
MLA
Directory of Periodicals
--The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the
Modern Language Association of America, lists over 3,700 periodicals in the
areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered
regularly in the MLA International Bibliography with addresses, advertising
rates, and information about submissions for publication. EbsoHost
-
Pennsylvania Gazette
1728-1800 ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through
1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th
century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America,
the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social,
political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Thousands of
articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements cover the Western
Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces, through the West Indies and
North and South America, giving a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of
the times. Also included is the full-text of such important writings such as:
the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer,
Thomas Payne`s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc.
-
Pictures of Record Online
ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--was developed for use in many disciplines, including anthropology,
archaeology, art history, political science, biology, architecture, and
others. The units contain essays, bibliographies, and detailed annotations for
each of the many images in each series.
-
ProQuest
Digital Dissertations
ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--encompasses
both Dissertation Abstracts and full text for all Proquest digital
dissertations from 1997 to present. With more than 1.6 million entries,
the Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source
for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The
database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first
U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last
semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include
350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from
1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. IUP LIBRARIES subscribes to ProQuest
Digital Dissertations and so receives on-line access to the complete file of
dissertations in digital format starting with titles published from 1997
forward. The full text of over 100,000 dissertations is available now
at this Web site.
-
ReferenceSuite
@ FACTS.com
ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--delivers five
databases. FACTS.com brings together complete content from the
Facts On File World News Digest since 1940 and selected content from
six other core reference databases to answer questions about events, issues,
statistics and people of the last 60+ years. FACTS.com also
delivers in-depth features on "Historic Events" drawn from the 60-year
Facts On File archive. Full content of four of these databases--Issues
and Controversies On File, Today's Science On File, The World
Almanac and Book of Facts, and The World Almanac Encyclopedia--is
also available here.
-
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage
ON-CAMPUS ONLY
--was developed
to help you maximize your research efforts in today's fast moving investment
market. It accomplishes this by providing a suite of advanced search engines
that allow you to quickly locate critical information and capture it as either
printed copy or electronic files.
Offsite access to most databases in this list is
possible through the use of 16-digit library ID (I-Card)
Number. Enter it when prompted to do so.
Authentication for most databases above is not required if you are a participant
in the IUP/Stargate
Agreement package.
Maintained by Portia Diaz-Martin, please send comments on this site and its
contents to portia@iup.edu.
Last modified:
08/31/2005
|