Academic
[EBSCO]
Search Complete
--designed specifically for
academic institutions, ASC is the world's most valuable and
comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than
5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities,
education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts &
literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies..
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more
than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs,
reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going
back as far as 1865. EBSCOhost.
Academic
OneFile
--Academic
OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the
world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the
physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology,
literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and
comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML
full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate
information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times
back to 1995. Updated daily. GALE
InfoTrac
Academic
Universe -- provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal,
and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet your
specific research needs. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS. Coverage: 1978-present.
Quick Guide to Finding Legal Cases.
Accessible
Archives
--Accessible
Archives was
founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make
available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously
furnished only on microfilm. In pursuit of this vision, primary source
material has been selected to reflect a broad view of the times, and has been
assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to
specific information with pinpoint accuracy. IUP subscribes to Pennsylvania
Gazette, The Civil War: a Newspaper Perspective and Pennsylvania County
Histories.
AccessScience
-- provides the finest collection of science
reference materials. This database offers easy accessibility to all the
articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill
Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest
Science News® headlines, biographies, and more. This online
encyclopedia is tailored to researchers and students looking for the most
relevant, readable, and trusted sources of information available.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
ACM Digital
Library
--The
ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM
journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. As a member of
PALCI, IUP subscribes to
the entire Digital Library. Coverage: 1950's forward where available.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
ACS Web
-- online collection of over 30 American Chemical
Society Journals and Magazines in full text (HTML or PDF).
Also includes the Archives of these journals. Interface: ACSWEB Coverage:
1879-Present-- Complete List.
African-American
Poetry 1760-1900
--The early history
of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African
American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the
nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins
Harper. Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Ageline
--is a searchable electronic database containing detailed
summaries of
publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and
magazine articles, research reports, and videos.
Agricola
--Compiled by the U.S. National
Agricultural Library (NAL), this comprehensive source of bibliographic
information consists of over 2.5 million citations to journal articles,
monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical
reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all
aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal
sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural
economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative
farming practices, and food and nutrition.
Coverage:1970-Present
EBSCOhost.
Agricola
--Compiled by the U.S. National
Agricultural Library (NAL), this comprehensive source of bibliographic
information consists of over 2.5 million citations to journal articles,
monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical
reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all
aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal
sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural
economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative
farming practices, and food and nutrition.
Coverage:1970-Present
NAL website.
Alt
HealthWatch
-- focuses on the many perspectives of
complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international
and often peer-reviewed reports and proceedings, as well as association and
consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt
HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports,
original research and book excerpts.
EBSCOhost
American Association of State Colleges and
Universities Grant Resource CenterON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
--The Grants Resource
Center of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities
(AASCU) provides concise and current information related to grants, funding
agencies, and new developments in external funding.
Click here for a direct link to their
GrantSearch. This service
is provided by the IUP School of
Graduate Studies and Research.
America:
History & Life
--a complete bibliographic reference to the history of
the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage includes
selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history
journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social
sciences and humanities. The database also includes citations to abstracts of
dissertations published in these areas.
American
National Biography
--The
landmark American National Biography offers
portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life
-- whose lives have shaped the nation. Published in 24 volumes in 1999, the
American National Biography won instant
acclaim as the new authority in American biographies. The publication of the
online edition makes the ANB even more
useful as a dynamic source of information -- updated quarterly, with hundreds
of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to
enhance their accuracy and currency. The
American National Biography is published by Oxford University Press under
the auspices of the American
Council of Learned Societies.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
American
Periodicals Series Online
--This
unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of
American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of
the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine
and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular
magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional
and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck,
and McClure's. Proquest.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Provides in-depth information on a variety of
topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts,
and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
Annual
Reviews Online
--is a collection of authoritative, analytic reviews in 29
focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Annual Reviews publications are and have been among the most highly cited in
scientific literature.
Anthropological
Index
--one of the major indexes for Social and Cultural
Anthropology. It also covers physical anthropology, archaeology and
linguistics. Based on the collection of the Royal Anthropological
Institute's Museum of Mankind Library, it indexes over 700 journals
worldwide. Period Covered : Vo. 22-32 - approximately last 10 years.
AnthrosourceON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
--AnthroSource,
is the premier online resource serving the research, teaching, and
professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological
Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material
online to scholars and the public, including: Current issues for 15 of the AAA's
most critical peer-reviewed publications including American
Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and
Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. An electronic archive of all AAA journals.
View holdings
information. Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA
publications including American Anthropologist (for AAA members and
subscribing institutions).
Art
Abstracts
-- indexes and abstracts journals from more than 313
periodicals worldwide, as well as yearbooks, museum bulletins, and
reproductions. Interface:
EBSCOhost.
ARTstor
-- ARTstor provides curated collections
of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit
educational use. The Charter Collection will
provide students, faculty, curators, and staff with access to a large and
expanding resource of digital images and data for teaching and research in art
history, as well as - more broadly - in the humanities and other disciplines.
Moreover, ARTstor's digital library will contain approximately half a million
images by the summer of 2006. ARTstor's initial software tools will support a
wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing
images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images
online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations
both online and offline. This community resource will be made available solely
for educational and scholarly uses that noncommercial in nature.
☼Licensed with Student Technology Fee
Funds
Basic EBSCOhost
This will allow you to see all databases available through
EBSCOhost and search them simultaneously.
Bibliography
of Asian Studies
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
--
the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS),
referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all
parts of Asia published since 1971.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Biography
Resource Center
-- a comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people
from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and
subject areas.
Biological
Sciences
--an interdisciplinary database offering abstracts and
citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology
and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides
access to literature from over 6000 sources including serials, conference
proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and selected books and patents.
Interface: CSA Coverage: 1982-present.
Biological Abstracts(EBSCOhost)
-- leading indexing and abstracting reference source for
life sciences information covering journal literature published in over 70
countries. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: 1969-present.☼Some content
licensed with Student Technology Fee
Funds
Biological
Abstracts(WebSpirs)
-- leading indexing and abstracting reference source for
life sciences information covering journal literature published in over 70
countries. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1998-present.
Biology
Digest
--abstracts and indexes of domestic and international
literature in the area of life sciences. It is primarily intended for an
audience at the high school or undergraduate level. Its purpose is to aid in
keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in
biological research. Interface:
CSA.
Coverage: 1989-present
BioOne
--BioOne is the product of innovative collaboration between
scientific societies, academe and the private sector. This database
brings to the Web a valuable aggregation of the full-text of high-impact
bioscience research journals. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective
access to interrelated journals that focus on the biological, ecological and
environmental sciences, many of which were formerly available only in print
format from small societies and non-commercial publishers. Coverage:
2000-present.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Black
Drama
--contains the full text of nearly 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to
the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking
Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works
are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection
will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston
Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph
Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
--approximately
100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews
written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to
1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political
science, American history, music, literature, and art. This databaseis
intended to present a wide range of previously inaccessible material,
including letters by athletes such as Jackie Robinson, correspondence by Ida
B. Wells, prefatory essays by Amiri Baraka, political leaflets by Huey
Newton, and interviews with Paul Robeson. Much of the material is fugitive,
and almost twenty percent of the collection has not been published
previously.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Book
Collection:
Nonfiction
--
a rich research database
that contains informative abstracts and full text for more than 1,600 popular
nonfiction books. The database provides content representing a wide spectrum
of works, including many of the complete series from top book publishers such
as Millbrook Press, Inc., Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing, LLC,
Capstone Press, Chelsea House, and Mason Crest Publishers. Content includes
full text articles on literature, social studies, history, and science, as
well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, and technology..
Interface: EBSCOhost.
Britannica
Online --Encyclopedia Britannica is the world's
most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its
first publication in 1768.Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete
encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and
Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the
Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet
directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated,
and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Business
and Company Resource Center
--
Business and Company
Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company
profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories,
chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company
and industry news and information. Interface: InfoTrac ☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Business
Full Text
--
Wilson Business Full
Text provides fast, convenient access to a multitude of outstanding
sources—from The New York Times Business Section and The Wall Street Journal
to magazines and scholarly journals. With Quality abstracting and indexing of
more than 850 publications, users will find feature articles, product reviews,
interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys,
book reviews, reports from associations, societies, trade shows and
conferences, and more. Over 600,000 corporate names with cross-references to
specific industries and countries are included, as well.
Topics includes a wide range of interdisciplinary
fields covered in a broad array of business journals.
Interface:
WilsonWeb.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Business
Source Premier
-- provides full text for over 1,320 scholarly business
journals and indexing/abstracting of over 2,000 journals covering
management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
Interface: EBSCOhost.
Coverage: 1984 (full text 1990)-present.
Cabell's Business Directories
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
--
Cabell Publishing, Inc.
was founded in 1978, to help professors, graduate students and researchers
publish their manuscripts. To achieve this goal, the company strives to
maintain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for
a large number of journals. Also, the company seeks to provide information on
publication guidelines and review information.
Cambridge
Scientific Abstract
--through its Internet Database Service (IDS), provides
multiple databases in the fields of biological and medical sciences, as well
as related links to web sites through CSA's Web Resources Database. See also
Biological Sciences, Biology Digest, Conference Papers Index, Medline, Plant
Science and Toxline. Interface:
CSA.
CARL Uncover--Now
Ingenta
-- service that offers a periodicals database that indexes
nearly 18,000 multi-disciplinary titles and contains over eight million
article citations. CARL Uncover's Reveal, a current awareness service, is
available to IUP students, faculty, and staff. Interface: Web.
Coverage: 1988-present.
CCH OmniTax School Library
-- Electronic version of CCH looseleaf services
[including Standard Federal Tax Reporter]. Includes the CCH Federal Tax
Service, IRS letter rulings, state tax reporters, and current news. Access
is via IP authentication and requires IUP email address for access.
Limited to 35 simultaneous users.
Interface: Web.
Coverage: variable.
Center for
Research Libraries
--an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges,
universities and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources
to users everywhere. Open to scholars and researchers, its outstanding
collections include more than five million volumes of research materials
rarely held in North American libraries. Interface: Web. Coverage: Current.
--Chadwyck-Healey literature collections offer
users the potential to transform the scholarly discussion of literature and
language past and present. Making the works of canonical writers, as well as
their lesser-known contemporaries, accessible and available to sophisticated
analysis in electronic form allows all users of Chadwyck-Healey collections
- from specialist researchers to undergraduate students - to make new
connections and serendipitous discoveries, thereby creating fresh avenues
for critical debate, scholarly dialogue and linguistic research in the
humanities. Proquest/Chadwych-Healey☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
ChemoReception Web
--ChemoReception
Web covers every major facet of the chemical senses highlighting the sensory,
behavioral, and biological aspects of taste, smell, and pheromones. Insight is
provided into the effects of perfumes, fragrances, soaps, cosmetics, essential
oils, foods, flavorings, aromas, spices, and much more. There are special
sections on human behavior, physiology & pathology, and psychophysics.The
ChemoReception Web explores how tastes, smells, and pheromones are received,
perceived, and then translated into appropriate responses and actions. Access
is provided to abstracts and book reviews derived from CSA's Chemoreception
Abstracts database and to pertinent, editor-selected Web Sites from CSA's
extensive Web Resources Database.
Interface: CSA
Children's
Literature Comprehensive Database [CLCD]
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
(CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that
offers more than 1,450,000 MARC records and more than 315,000
reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 37 review
sources.
CIAO
[Columbia International Affairs Online]
--Columbia International Affairs Online
(CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in
international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991
onward that includes working papers from university research institutes,
occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects,
proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. It is also a
widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case
studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of
background readings for history and political science classes, and special
features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
CINAHL
with Full Text
-- database designed specifically to meet the informational
needs of nurses and allied health professionals. It is the equivalent to
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Interface:
EBSCOhost.
The
Civil War, a Newspaper Perspective
--This
database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500
issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond
Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. The text
begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues
through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and
funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles,
eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials,
advertisements and biographies.
Classical
Music Library
-- Classical Music Library is the world's
first classical music collection for listening on computers in the library.
Brought to you by Classical, it is a complete collection of recordings with a
supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen to music both in
the library (with headphones) or across campus while simultaneously searching
and browsing our vast reference database.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Clinical Pharmacology provides access
up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S.
prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements,
over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.
College
Source Online
-- features over 12,100 College Catalogs in complete
cover-to-cover original page format including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and
professional schools. Note:
restricted to on-campus users.
Cogprints Cognitive Sciences Eprint Archive is an electronic archive
for self-archive papers in any
area of Psychology,
neuroscience,
and Linguistics,
and many areas of
Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison,
learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy
(e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g.,
ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary
theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics,
Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology,
archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical,
social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
Columbia
International Affairs Online [CIAO]
--Columbia International Affairs Online
(CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in
international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991
onward that includes working papers from university research institutes,
occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects,
proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. It is also a
widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case
studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of
background readings for history and political science classes, and special
features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Columbia
Gazetteer of the World
--The Columbia Gazetteer of the World is a
comprehensive gazetteer and as such is an encyclopedia of geographical places
and features.
The information contained therein constitutes a
gazetteer unrivaled in scope and unmatched in authority. Users can search by
type of place, place name or a full keyword search of the content.
Pronunciation of place names in the Gazetteer
appear in parentheses next to place names.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Columbia
Granger's World of Poetry
--For over a century, Granger's® has been the definitive
source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves.
First published in 1904, The Columbia Granger's® Index to Poetry is now in
its 12th edition. In 1999, Granger’s went online as The Columbia
Granger’s World of Poetry. Included in the online version are a series of
key Columbia poetry titles: The Classic Hundred Poems, The Top 500
Poems, The Columbia Granger's® Index to Poetry in Anthologies,
editions 8–12, The Columbia Granger's® Index to Poetry in Collected and
Selected Works, editions 1-2, and The Columbia Granger's® Index to
African-American Poetry.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Communication Institute for Online
Scholarship [CIOS]
--
The Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
is a not-for-profit organization supporting the use of computer technologies
in the service of communication scholarship and education. CIOS is the
publisher of "The Electronic Journal of Communication" one the first five
peer-reviewed online scholarly journals ever created (and perhaps the only one
in continuous publication). And the CIOS is creator of ComIndex, the
communications field's first electronic bibliographic index to academic
services, and of the Visual Communication Concept Explorer an unmatched
next-generation research tool for students and scholars researching in CIOS
databases.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
--The Sage Communications
Studies Collection includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE
and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years,
encompassing over 5,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Journalism,
Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal
Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television
/ Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational /
Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy
Studies. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records
(indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each
journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the
appropriate full-text in PDF format.
Interface: CSA.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds NOTE: These
titles are also available from the SAGE Premier database
Communications & Mass Media Complete
--
provides the most robust, quality research
solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database
originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular
databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)),
and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State
University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable
resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all
aspects of communication and mass media.
Community of
Science Funding Opportunities
-- This resource is no longer licensed by IUP. Grant Resource Centerfrom the
AASCU may provide helpful information on locating grants. See
description below.
Computers
and Applied Sciences Complete
--
covers the research and development spectrum of the computing
and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for
more than 1,300 academic journals, professional publications, and other
reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for
more than 500 periodicals. EBSCOhost.
Conference
Papers Index
-- provides citations to papers and poster sessions
presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis
since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the
aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and
materials science. Records include complete ordering information to obtain
preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the
conference, together with title and author information needed to track the
specific papers. Interface:
CSA Coverage:
1982-present.
The
CQ Electronic Library
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
--offers an exceptional
line of government, public policy and current awareness reference databases
including: CQ
Researcher (including an archive
back to 1991) provides original, comprehensive
reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Supreme Court Collection,
provides historical analysis with timely updates
and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court
justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.
Washington Information
Directory (WID) Onlineis a one-stop mega-database for national,
international, and state level contacts. CQ’s Electronic Encyclopedia of American
Government is an A to Z
reference on Congress, the Presidency, Supreme
Court, and U.S. Election process. The CQ Public
Affairs Collection,
is a storehouse of public policy content organized by 22 key topics, pulls
together CQ's wealth of historic documents and primary source materials,
statistical overviews, directory contact information.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
The
CQ Weekly
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
--each issue of CQ Weekly is fully
archived to 1983 on the Web. It looks forward and back. There are
in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a
complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in
play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and
all roll-call votes. Just as important, CQ Weekly is
written in plain-English prose that makes it easy for people "outside the
beltway" to understand complex legislation, and its ramifications, just as
well as any Washington insider.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
--the most comprehensive resource of its kind.
You can explore government in action with the most comprehensive online
resource available for Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation,
history, and legal research. It also allows in-depth research with access to
the full-text of more than 211 years worth of detailed information about
Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, voting
records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory
resources. Lexis-Nexis ☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Fund
Quick Guide to Using Congressional Universe to Locate Legislative
Information
Contemporary Fashion(Gale Virtual Reference Library
Title) --A reference book covering individual designers and
fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries.
Informative essays mirror the many facets of the fashion world.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Criminal
Justice Abstracts New Interface!!!
--indexes major journals in criminology and related
disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports
from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an
informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is
provided. Interface: CSA Coverage: 1968-Present.
Criminal
Justice Periodicals Index [CJPI] --is an
essential resource for both students and professionals in any criminal justice
field. The ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodical Index (CJPI) is the most
comprehensive database of its kind. It covers the following subject areas:
social sciences, education, and humanities. The overall dates of coverage are
1981 - present of 190 titles. CJPI can provide
information on virtually any criminal justice topic, including corrections
administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug
rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. The database offers ASCII text,
image, and Text+Graphics coverage for about 50 of the titles most frequently
accessed by criminal justice researchers. CJPI also include complete indexing
and abstracts for another 140 relevant U.S. and international journals. Sample
sources include American Journal of Criminal Justice, FBI Law Enforcement
Bulletin, International Journal of Offender Therapy & Comparative Criminology,
Journal of Forensic Sciences, and Women Police.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
--The Sage Criminology
Collection includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and
participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing
over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile
Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic
Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence. The searchable
database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or
abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every
bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text
in PDF format.
Interface: CSA.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds NOTE: These titles
are also available from the SAGE Premier database
CSLSP-e(The IEEE Computer Society Library
Subscription Plan)
--The IEEE Computer Society Library
Subscription Plan (CSLSP-e) provides full-text internet access to 22 IEEE
Computer Society periodicals and over 150 annual conference proceedings.
Coverage includes 15 of the top 30 most highly cited journals in computer
science. The backfile includes journal content to 1988 and conference
proceedings back to 1995. More than 100,000 full-text documents are
available through CSLSP.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Current
Index to Statistics
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to
publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162
core journals (as of 2003) that are fully indexed, and many non-core journals,
proceedings, edited books, and other sources from which articles are selected
that have statistical content. The Current Index to Statistics-Extended
Database (CIS-ED) contains the cumulative contents of the CIS Print
Volumes, together with substantial material from before the publication of the
first volume, including coverage of some journals extending back to their
founding. The database on the query site is updated throughout the year
as new information is received and processed.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Davis
Bacon Wage Determination
--The Davis Bacon Wage Determination Database contains wage
determinations made by the U.S. Department of Labor under the mandate of the
Davis-Bacon Act and related legislation. The Department determines prevailing
wage rates for construction-related occupations in most counties in the United
States.
Dictionary
of National Biography
--the Oxford
Dictionary of National Biography allows you to explore the lives of
50,000 people who have shaped the British past over the last 2,400 years -
from the Greek explorer Pytheas to Princess Diana, and from the founding
fathers of America to the Nawabs of Bengal. 50,000 biographies, 60 million
words, 10,000 portrait illustrations - available online.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Digital Dissertations --encompasses
both Dissertation Abstracts and full text for all Proquest digital
dissertations from 1997 to present. With more than 1.6 million entries, the
Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for
information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database
includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S.
dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last
semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include
350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from
1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. IUP LIBRARIES subscribes to ProQuest
Digital Dissertations and so receives on-line access to the complete file of
dissertations in digital format starting with titles published from 1997
forward. The full text of over 100,000 dissertations is available now
at this Web site.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Discovery
Education Streaming Video
--Discovery
Education streaming video is a digital video-on-demand and online
teaching service with content from over 100 educational publishers including
PBSŪ, Scholastic, BBC, AIMS, Clearvue & SVE,
to name a few. The streaming video includes both clips and full length
productions in such areas as Health, Science, Social Studies, Mathematics,
Language Arts, Visual & Performing Arts, etc. To use this service you must be
an IUP affiliated user.
To
access the passcode please follow this link. You will need to type
your IUP domain name/network user name in the top box and your network
password in the second box. Example:
User name: IUPMSD/ABCXYZ
Password: xyzabc
Use the access code you find there to set up your unique user name and
password for this service.
Duke E-Journals
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
--
The e-Duke
Scholarly Collection includes online access to twenty-nine Duke humanities and
social science journals.
Early American
Fiction 1789–1875
--Early American
Fiction includes the full texts of the first editions of American novels and
short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their
lifetimes. Well-known works by authors such as Nathaniel Hawthorne and James
Fenimore Cooper are included alongside many works by lesser-known writers such
as Catharine Maria Sedgwick. Early
American Fiction offers the full
text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by
such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and
Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period. Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Early English Books
Online [EEBO] Early English Books Online
(EEBO) is a digital library of works from the STC I (Pollard & Redgrave), STC
II (Wing), and Thomason Tracts bibliographies – currently comprising almost
100,000 individual titles for the period 1473-1700.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
EBSCO
Animals
Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating
to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text
records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Click here
for more
info
EBSCOhost
-- EBSCO Information Services provides multiple databases
from EBSCO Publishing via EBSCOhost. Databases include Academic Search ,
Business Source Premier, Newspaper Source, Health Source Plus, Comprehensive
Medline, Clinical Reference Systems, USP DI, The Serials Directory and EBSCO
Online Citations. See these titles for individual descriptions.
EconLit
--indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic
journals. Its source material includes journal articles, essays, research
papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. The database
contains more than 350,00 records covering 1969-present.
EBSCOhost.
-- The Sage Education
Collection includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published
by SAGE and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of
backfiles, and encompasses over 8,000 articles. It covers such subject
areas as: Adult and Continuing Education, Educational Administration,
Educational Policy, Elementary and Primary Education, High School and
Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education,
Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Multicultural Education and
Diversity, Professional Development, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching
Methods. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records
(indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each
journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the
appropriate full-text in PDF format. Interface: CSA.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds NOTE: These titles
are also available from the SAGE Premier database
Education
Full Text
--Education Full Text from the H.W. WilsonCompany provides
comprehensive coverage of an international range of
English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks on Education including
Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, it
provides bibliographic information for articles from
750 periodicals and yearbooks, with indexing going back to 1983 and abstracts
to 1994. Articles from books relating to education, which were published after
1995, are also included. Full text begins in 1996. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education
issues including, adult education, continuing education, library science,
literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, etc.
WilsonWeb.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Education
Research Complete
--
the definitive online resource for education research. Topics
covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher
education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education,
health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides
indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for
more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and
monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
EBSCOhost.
Education
Retrospective 1929-1983
--Education Retrospective from the H.W. WilsonCompany provides
comprehensive coverage of an international range of
English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks on Education from
1929-1983. Topics include a wide range of education
issues including, adult education, continuing education, library science,
literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, etc.
WilsonWeb. ☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
eHRAF
Collection of Ethnography ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information
on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF
database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and
ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph
level. Visit the HRAF homepage at
www.yale.edu/hraf for an online user's guide and instructional exercises.
Follow this link http://www.yale.edu/hraf/Short_OCM_List_121503.pdf to the Short List of
OCM [Outline of Cultural Materials] codes to aid in building search
strategies. ☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
E-LIS is an open access archive for scientific
or technical documents, published or unpublished, on Librarianship,
Information Science and Technology, and related areas. E-LIS relies on the
voluntary work of individuals from a wide range of backgrounds and is
non-commercial. It is not a funded project of an organization. It is
community-owned and community-driven. We serve LIS researchers by
facilitating their self-archiving, ensuring the long-term preservation of
their documents and by providing word-wide easy access to their papers.
Emerald
--full-text access to peer reviewed journals in the areas of
Business and Management, Health and Environment, Library and Information
Management, Training and Education, Material Science and Technology.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Online --Encyclopedia Britannica is the world's
most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its
first publication in 1768.Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete
encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and
Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the
Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet
directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated,
and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice(Gale Virtual Reference Library
Title)
-- This uniquely interdisciplinary
resource covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic
aspects of crime and justice worldwide. Entries cover civil and criminal
issues, from domestic violence to terrorism. Entries cite pertinent legal
cases as well as publications for further information. Also includes a
glossary of related terms.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Encyclopedia of Small Business
(Gale Virtual Reference Library
Title)
--
Designed to provide entrepreneurs
with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. Contains
600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small
business owners, including financing, financial planning, business plan
creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning, and human resource
issues.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Endnote
--client software the enables users to search
online bibliographic databases, organize reference and images, and create
bibliographies and figure lists instantly. IUP users can pick up a copy of
EndNote software with an I-card.
Endnote Software is available free
of charge with an I-Card from the IT Support Center at the Suites on Grant
Lower, Suite G35. 724-357-4000. More
Information.
Download filter for IUP Pilot online catalog. Download Other
Endnote filters
Tutorials ☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Endnote
Web
--web client software that enables users to
search online bibliographic databases, organize reference and images, and
create bibliographies and figure lists instantly. You must register a
user name and password from an IUP computer or be on the VPN to use EndNote
Web. Click
here for a table comparing EndNote and EndNote Web.Getting
started. ☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Environment Complete offers deep
coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy,
renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science,
geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology,
environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
This database also contains full text for more
than 600 journals. An Environment Thesaurus is available to assist with advanced
searching. Former titles: Environmental Issues and
Policy Index, Environment Index.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
The E-print Network is vast,
integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information
created by scientists and research engineers active in their
respective fields, intended for use by other scientists, engineers,
and students at advanced levels.
E-Prints are scientific or technical
documents circulated electronically to facilitate peer exchange and
scientific advancement. Included are pre-publication drafts of journal
articles (preprints), scholarly papers, technical communications, or
similar documents relaying research results among peer groups.
ERIC (Webspirs)
--a combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education
(RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved
from RIE are documents assigned ED numbers (most available in PDF files from
IUP database E*Subscribe, or see microfiche by submitting the ED number).
Items retrieved in CIJE are journal articles assigned EJ numbers. Journal
titles must be checked against the Library's periodical holdings determine
local availability. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1966-present.
ERIC
(EBSCO)
--a combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education
(RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved
from RIE are documents assigned ED numbers (most available in PDF files from
IUP database E*Subscribe, or see microfiche by submitting the ED number).
Items retrieved in CIJE are journal articles assigned EJ numbers. Journal
titles must be checked against the Library's periodical holdings determine
local availability, although the EBSCO interface will link to full text in
other EBSCO databases. Interface:
EBSCOhost..
Coverage: 1966-present.
ERIC
Web Portal
E*Subscribe documents are now located here!!
--
The Education Resources
Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES)
of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of
journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system,
released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site
for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million
citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text
non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through
fee-based services only, will be available for free.
Essay
& General Literature Index
--a
unique reference database that provides access to nearly 65,000 essays found
in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections, with coverage dating as far
back as 1985. Subjects covered in the database include archaeology,
architecture, art, children's literature, classical studies, drama, economics,
fiction, film, folklore, history, linguistics, music, poetry, political
science, psychology, religion, women's studies and more, covering the entire
range of the humanities and social sciences.
WilsonWeb.
Ethnic
NewsWatch + ENW, A History
--covers
news, culture and History from 240+ publications of ethnic, minority and
native presses. Designed to provide the "other side of the story",
Ethnic
NewsWatch and ENW, A History full text titles offer additional viewpoints from those
proffered by the mainstream press. Both English and Spanish language search
interfaces are provided. This does not affect the content. Coverage 1960 -
Present. ☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Federal Tax Reporter -- OmniTax
School Library
-- Electronic version of CCH
looseleaf services [including Standard Federal Tax Reporter]. Includes the CCH
Federal Tax Service, IRS letter rulings, state tax reporters, and
current news. Access is via IP authentication and requires IUP email address
for access. Limited to 35 simultaneous users.
Interface: Web.
Coverage: variable
FirstSearch
Welcome to OCLC's new
FirstSearch® service, an interactive online information system available on
the World Wide Web. GEOBASE and WorldCat are available through this service.
Gale
Literary Index
-- A free online index to forty of Gale's printed
sources. A quick and easy way to locate biographies of authors and
critical essays on their writings. The entries include location
information only; not textual information is available.
Gale
Virtual Reference Library
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
-- Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of eBook
reference titles. IUP subscribes to the following titles:
º
Contemporary Fashion --A
reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been
active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. Informative essays mirror the
many facets of the fashion world.
º
Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice -- This uniquely interdisciplinary
resource covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic
aspects of crime and justice worldwide. Entries cover civil and criminal
issues, from domestic violence to terrorism. Entries cite pertinent legal
cases as well as publications for further information. Also includes a
glossary of related terms.
º
Encyclopedia of Small Business -- Designed to provide entrepreneurs
with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. Contains
600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small
business owners, including financing, financial planning, business plan
creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning, and human resource
issues.
º
Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia-- Entries describe
the physical geography of every nation and dependency on Earth. Physical
features, climate, and vegetation are discussed in detail using a consistent
set of rubrics. Every entry features a physical relief map designed to
illuminate the text of the entry. A World Rankings appendix includes dozens of
tables ranking major features of the Earth, such as largest river by length
and volume, tallest mountains by continent, and deepest oceans. Includes a
glossary of geographical and geological terms.
º Videohound's Golden Movie Retriever-- Containing the most extensive listing of movies
available on video--more than 23,000 in all--and a multitude of
cross-referencing within its 10 primary indexes, this new edition includes new
movies, expanded indexing, a fresh introduction, and more of the beloved
categories.
General Science Full Text
--General Science Full Text from the H. W. Wilson Company provides bibliographic information for
science articles from 300 science periodicals with indexing going back to 1984 and abstracts
to 1995. Full text begins in 1995 for over 100 titles.
Covers a broadrange of fields in general interest
periodicals—including The New York Times Science section—and specialized
scientific journals as well. Topics include a wide range of
scientific disciplines including, astronomy, conservation, earth science,
zoology, etc.
WilsonWeb. ☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
GeoBase
--bibliographic
database covering worldwide research literature in physical and human
geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines.
GeoBib
--Online
Geographical Bibliography (GeoBib) is the online version of
Current Geographical
Publications. Beginning with January 2004, it
will be available only online cumulating all Current Geographical Publications
entries from 1984 to the present.
Geo-Data
(Gale Virtual Reference Library
Title)
-- Entries describe
the physical geography of every nation and dependency on Earth. Physical
features, climate, and vegetation are discussed in detail using a consistent
set of rubrics. Every entry features a physical relief map designed to
illuminate the text of the entry. A World Rankings appendix includes dozens of
tables ranking major features of the Earth, such as largest river by length
and volume, tallest mountains by continent, and deepest oceans. Includes a
glossary of geographical and geological terms.☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
GeoRef
-- American Geological Institute's database containing over
1.9 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the
world since 1933. It is equivalent to Bibliography of North American
Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America,
Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional
items come from special bibliographies. Interface:
EBSCOhost..
Coverage: 1785-present.
Google Scholar
--Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature,
including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and
technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find
articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies,
preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles
available across the web.
Government
Catalog
-- Most comprehensive catalog index to U.S. Federal
government publications. Interface: Web. Coverage: 1976-present.
GPO
Access
-- GPO Access. Government Printing Office's One Stop Source
for Official Government Information. Web access.
Granger's World of Poetry
--For over a century, Granger's® has been the definitive
source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves.
First published in 1904, The Columbia Granger's® Index to Poetry is now in
its 12th edition. In 1999, Granger’s went online as The
Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry. Included in the online version
are a series of key Columbia poetry titles: The Classic Hundred Poems,
The Top 500 Poems, The Columbia Granger's® Index to Poetry in
Anthologies, editions 8–12, The Columbia Granger's® Index to Poetry in
Collected and Selected Works, editions 1-2, and The Columbia Granger's®
Index to African-American Poetry.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds
Grant Resource Center (AASCU) ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
--The Grants Resource
Center of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities
(AASCU) provides concise and current information related to grants, funding
agencies, and new developments in external funding.
Click here for a direct link to their
GrantSearch. This service is provided
by the IUP School of Graduate Studies
and Research.
Grove
Art Online Cabell Publishing, Inc. was
founded in 1978, our goal has been to help professors, graduate students and
researchers publish their manuscripts. To achieve this goal, the company
strives to maintain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and
websites for a large number of journals. Also, the company seeks to provide
information on publication guidelines and review information. Grove
Art OnlineOFF-CAMPUS-- Remote Access Link
--Grove
Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art
(1996, 34 vols.) with ongoing additions of new material and updates to the
text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages
possible with an online reference resource.
☼Licensed
with Student Technology Fee Funds